Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is the best flan I have ever made! I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and it was delicious! Thanks to other reviewers who gave advice on how to complete the recipe: take flan out of water bath to cool; don't overcook, as flan DOES firm up when refrigerated overnight! Mine looked very soupy when I took it out, but let it cool completely on counter out of water bath and then put in frig overnight and it was perfect, very creamy texture! Also, had a little issue with the sugar topping releasing from bottom of my glass loaf pan. When i flipped it, most of the sugar had turned to syrup and streamed down the flan like it is supposed to, but I also had like a 1/8th inch layer that was completely adhered to the pan! Took many rounds of soaking to finally be able to scrape it out! Not sure what happened there, but still loved the flan- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for a party and it wouldn't get done! I used a glass casserole dish and believe the sides were too high. After about 3 hours we decided it must be done and following the directions posted flipped it out onto a plate. It immediately cracked in half - hence make sure you use something with only about 1 1/2 to 2 inch high sides. The flavor was wonderful though, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ida, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Pretty good. Used a pie tin and had extra left over. Put it in the fridge and made it the day after. Tasted about the same. Don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe. I normally use egg yolk only, I didn't know you can put the whole egg. But if you prefer smoother texture, I'd suggest exclude the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was looking for a gluten free but delicious dessert, so I decided to try this recipe for a baby shower and it turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were to increase the carmelized sugar to 2 batches of 3/4 cup (I increased the 2/3 to 3/4, but that still wasn't enough, so I repeated it...next time I'll do 1+ cup with some water) and to use almond flavoring instead of the vanilla. Everyone LOVED it--even people who didn't usually like flan! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This one is always a big hit when I take to pot-lucks! My absolute go-to recipe for Flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This flan was delicious!!!! This was my first time making it, and it still came out perfectly!(: I was really scared when I was making the sugar for the glaze, and I thought it was burning the second I put it in the pan. So don't be scared. It takes a good 3-5 minutes for it to have burning potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
A very good recipe with an excellent texture, however, if you let it cook until it looks set in the oven, it will be overdone. Eggs should be cooked until the reach 180 degrees for a perfectly cooked texture. I checked mine until it reached 178 in the center and then removed from the oven, letting it set the rest of the way from the residual heat. It was perfectly set and absolutely delicious. Another tip-- if you want an easier time with the sugar, add a splash of water and about a Tblsp of corn syrup. The sugar will still completely harden in the bottom of the pan but will be easier to handle as it caramelizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Made it for the first time and the people at the dinner we attended raved! I did use the Carnation sweetened condensed milk, and it was just perfect. I baked it just about 55 minutes. I only had a 9 1/2 in. pie pan, so I used that, and it was fine. I hope to find a cake pan next time for a better shape, but otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States