Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm Hispanic and everyone loved this recipe. I have another recipe I use but this one has a creamer texture. I would melt the sugar in the baking pans. The sugar could be reduced to at least 1/2 cup but it really depends on what size pan you're baking it in. You need enough to coat the base of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
easy to make, family loves it, I add a bit of salt but that's just to give it a better taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now and it is a hit every time . It takes a bit of work to get the sugar carmelized nicely but is well worth the effort. Flan is creamy smooth , so easy to prepare, filled my blender full but not overflowing. Mexican vanilla makes this even better. May take a bit longer to cook. Check it carefully Everyone loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Bonham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made it the first time came out great! Made again and it fell apart as soon as I placed on the plate. Not sure what went wrong :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
We thought this was delicious! I used a loaf pan and it took almost an hour and a half for it to set, so the top got a little browner than I would have liked it to but it was still excellent. Wish the recipe had a little more direction about what to do after the flan comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Th texture, the taste, the difficulty (or lack of) are all great. The only thing I thought was missing was a complete set of instructions. After you take the flan out of the oven, you need to take it out of the water bath immediately. Also, to take the flan out of the dish, I find it easier to let it cool completely before running a spoon around the edge and flipping it onto a plate. Apart from that I loved everything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Came out AMAZING! I decided that I didnt want to use a blender and I'm Happy I didnt! Mine came out smooth with not one bubble whats so ever. I also made extra sause because I liked it that way. I was also glad i made extra sause for the botom dries and crystalizes very easly when its cooking and i lost bout half of the sause from that. Overall with the changes I made, I am VERY pleased with this recipie (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This brought up many childhood memories. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Followed it exactly with outstanding results. It filled the blender, but as long as I was careful to push the top down tight while blending, the mess other reviewers talked about didn't happen. I had a little bit of a tough time with the sugar and since I was using a 10x10 square corelle baking dish, it didn't get all the way to the edges before hardening. I put the dish on the stove to resoften it, and that helped, but there was still almost an inch around the bottom of the dish that wasn't covered with sugar. I also, because the dish was wide, melted 1 1/4 cups of sugar. The flan was only about 1 1/4 inches thick, but the sugar liquified nicely, the flan set easily, and the custard was super creamy. Made it for a dinner party. Everyone raved! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
It was my first attempt making flan and I was very nervous. I made this for a Spanish themed meal and it was spectacular.I carmelized the sugar in the microwave and it is foolproof. Use the dish you plan to bake the flan in if possible. Add the sugar and just enough water to moisten the sugar. Set the microwave on high, it will turn from clear to golden in about 10 minutes. Do not stir or it will crystalize! Start watching it carefully after 5 minutes. If you use another container be sure to pour it fast or it will harden. When the flan is ready to serve put the pan in a little warm water bath and it will release easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States