Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I didn't have the right baking equipment, but made it anyway in a 2-qt chef's pan pan (Calphalon 142) immersed in water in a 3-quart saute pan (All-Clad). I was also making this for 2 people, so I changed the serving size to "3" so that it was exactly 2 eggs. This serving size was perfect for my standard sized 6-cup blender! I didn't have any trouble with the sugar: I measured out all the ingredients into a bowl, mixed it, and then dumped it in the blender (could have and should have just done that in the blender), THEN turned on medium-low heat for the sugar on the stove. While the sugar was heating up, I began blending, making sure to lift the sugar pan and swirl it around every so often. When I finished blending, the sugar was beginning to liquefy, so I lifted it off the heat a few inches, and swirled it around my chef's pan. Once the sugar was a beautiful medium amber, I turned off the heat and swirled it around the pan while it continued to cool. Once it had partially set, I dumped in the flan contents from the blender, placed the chef's pan in the saute pan, poured water that I had boiled while doing all the rest into the saute pan, and stuck it into the oven and baked for 50 minutes. It turned out perfectly... but did not flip well, because well, it wasn't baking equipment. All I cared about though, was flavor and texture, and that was spot on! Next time, to make it a little lighter, I will try using 1:1 cream to milk proportions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Please DO NOT use blender. Whisk together (add 2 extra egg yolks) and pour through mesh sieve. This will come out PERFECT with no bubbles, etc. This is A+ recipe. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aarchel
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this flan for dessert OMG that yummy! I followed the suggestion from others and I used my Kitchen Aid mixer. The flan turn out perfectly and it's my first time to make a flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarchel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mallica714
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was great and easy to make. Made it for dinner party and everyone loved, texture on flavor was like my Argentine mother use to make. I made two separate batches. First batch followed directions and could not fit a third in pan due to foam. Second batch I let it sit for five min before pouring in pan and it all fit. Due thin 8" diameter cake pan I only cooked for 45 minutes. THIS WILL BE ON MY FAVORITE LIST AND HAVE SHARED ALREADY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm Hispanic and everyone loved this recipe. I have another recipe I use but this one has a creamer texture. I would melt the sugar in the baking pans. The sugar could be reduced to at least 1/2 cup but it really depends on what size pan you're baking it in. You need enough to coat the base of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
easy to make, family loves it, I add a bit of salt but that's just to give it a better taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now and it is a hit every time . It takes a bit of work to get the sugar carmelized nicely but is well worth the effort. Flan is creamy smooth , so easy to prepare, filled my blender full but not overflowing. Mexican vanilla makes this even better. May take a bit longer to cook. Check it carefully Everyone loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Bonham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made it the first time came out great! Made again and it fell apart as soon as I placed on the plate. Not sure what went wrong :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
We thought this was delicious! I used a loaf pan and it took almost an hour and a half for it to set, so the top got a little browner than I would have liked it to but it was still excellent. Wish the recipe had a little more direction about what to do after the flan comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Th texture, the taste, the difficulty (or lack of) are all great. The only thing I thought was missing was a complete set of instructions. After you take the flan out of the oven, you need to take it out of the water bath immediately. Also, to take the flan out of the dish, I find it easier to let it cool completely before running a spoon around the edge and flipping it onto a plate. Apart from that I loved everything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States