Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was so simple to make and so delicious. I left it in for a bit longer than the recipe said, and it came out great. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I substituted the heavy cream for half and half, the milk for skim milk and the condensed milk for light condensed milk after trying the original recipe once. I found that it largely tasted the same for less calories. If you go further though it affects the texture. I used a mixer instead of a blender and it worked perfectly. I beat the eggs on high for 2 or 3 minutes so they don't end up in clumps. I also mixed the rest in and continued to mix on medium until I was ready to pour it so the ingredients don't settle. I found the easiest way for me to get the sugar right was to not pick it up before pouring it into the dish. If you pick it up before you are ready to pour if thickens and you can't get it to evenly spread. Just leave it on the stove and shake it once in a while to spread the sugar out. Once the edges are melted and the inside starts to brown then shake vigorously to stir the rest until it melts and then set back on the stove for 20 or 30 seconds to get it nice and hot before pouring. I found it takes about 90 minutes to cook or the center will not set. The instance where I cooked it for 50 minutes the center did not set even after 2 hours in the fridge. I was however able to cook that one again for a full 90 minutes (it was cold) and it set fine the second time and tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beezrgr8
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
It is baking now and so far it smells marvelous! The recipe was simple and quick. Watching it done was most helpful. This is my third try at flan. The first attempt was a powdered Goya box of flan. The taste was good but that was it. Then I tried a recipe I got from MSN recipes (years and years ago) and it didn't bake all the way through but it tasted good. So with trepidation yet curiosity and just orneriness, I watched Beth make flan and I also used a blender (good strategy!) and this was the most promising. The glitch this time was that my baking pan has a leak the size of a finish nail in the bottom! So I caramelized more sugar and poured the remainder into a glass pan. The old metal pan is on the scrap pile now. I think I will not have any further trouble with flan. I would like to try different flavor extracts over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beezrgr8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great Recipe, I doubled it for my family lunch party, only thing that I changed was, used my Kenwood 5 quart food processor to mix all the ingredient. One thing I have discovered is, if you mix eggs and vanilla extract together , it removes some of the egginess from the final product. Baked it for 60 minutes in waterbath at 180* Celcius, covered it with foil and the baked for further 20 minutes for complete bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Oh man! Step 1, make sure you like Flan!! I've never had this before, and while it came out good, this stuff is a sugary mess! And this from a person who regularly drinks soda, and enjoys sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nubyrthe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
yum! turned out well. can't eat a lot of it tho since it's so fattening. wish i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This flan is SOOOOOO GOOD! The only thing was that I had to bake it for a little longer but this became another one of my family favorite desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Beautiful dessert. Perfect texture, not too sweet, and not too eggy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Simply delicious. Made this flan for Cinco De Mayo, it was devoured by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I'd never tasted a flan before, much less made one, but I decided to try it since I like trying new foods. I liked it, a little too eggy in texture, but it was alright if you got enough of the sauce. A Spanish friend of ours liked it, so it must've had a semblence to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightStars

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States