Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was great! I made two of them, one for New Year's Eve, & and one for New Year's Day. They were big hits on both occasions. I liked it because the ingredients were simple & basic, & the directions were specific & clear. I found that the advice regarding melting the sugar was very helpful (I have burnt sugar before when I didn't pay close attention). Everything came off without a hitch, except that I tried it in a blender the first time, but it was too full & ended up messy when I tried to pour it. So, the second time, I just used a regular mixer & bowl & it was fine. I also put the finished flan into the refrigerator overnight, so that it would set a little more & be cold when served. Very yummy & classy! Thanks, Beth! (I'm making it again tonight for a baby shower tomorrow!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This flan recipe is really good - it's restaurant quality!!!! It took me 1-1/2 hours to cook it. I will definately make this again, maybe even try adding some chocolate. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
The best flan I've tasted. Took me a few times to get the caramel right but it's fantastic and well worth the persistence to get it right. I took another reviewer's advice and used a big bowl and a mixer instead of a blender. I also fill one large pie dish and a smaller little casserole dish (like a single serving size) and it uses up the little leftover mix that I have. My mom usually takes that little dish home with her. She is a veteran cook and she licked her plate clean the first time she ate this. Also, I cook the small dish for the same time with no problems. I like to eat it cold so after I let it cool (it will be runny when you take it out of the oven but will set nicely after it cools), I put it in the fridge. It makes it easy to cook the day before a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
BETH -- thank you!!! I have been searching for a good flan recipe for about a year now. This is the simplicity I was longing to achieve. This recipe, I have ranked highest above all. It was easy to make and now it is a definite family favorite. This is a true Mexican dessert. (Anyone reading this..look no further - this is it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Great everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
wow this one is perfect... weve been looking for the perfect recipe for so long...now weve found it... is really creamy and tasty... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Wonderful taste and texture.....delicious either warm or cold. The mixture does completely fill my blender...I may reduce the ingredients a small bit next time....definately will serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
my husband is cuban and he loves this i also put instant coffee or cocoa to make different flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I made this for a friend who always orders the flan if it is on the menu at a restaurant, and she said this is the best flan she ever had. She is always bugging me to make it. It doesn't fit in my blender so I mix half at a time in there and then combine it in a bowl. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
It was very sweet and smooth. I just used the typical electric mixer in the bowl. It worked fine. I thought the caramelized sugar would spread a little by tilting the dish after pouring it, but it did not at all. So, you really swill slowly to cover the entire plate evenly. It made the surface to be a little bumpy because I had it so unevenly. I baked in 13 inches tart dish, and it fitted perfectly, but I think I would try baking it in something a little deeper next time. Excellent recipe. ************* I've tried less sweet version by adding one more egg, 1/2 each cup of Heavy Crean and Milk. I liked this better. And, this still fit to my same 13 inch tart dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States