Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this for a party and it wouldn't get done! I used a glass casserole dish and believe the sides were too high. After about 3 hours we decided it must be done and following the directions posted flipped it out onto a plate. It immediately cracked in half - hence make sure you use something with only about 1 1/2 to 2 inch high sides. The flavor was wonderful though, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ida, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Pretty good. Used a pie tin and had extra left over. Put it in the fridge and made it the day after. Tasted about the same. Don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe. I normally use egg yolk only, I didn't know you can put the whole egg. But if you prefer smoother texture, I'd suggest exclude the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was looking for a gluten free but delicious dessert, so I decided to try this recipe for a baby shower and it turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were to increase the carmelized sugar to 2 batches of 3/4 cup (I increased the 2/3 to 3/4, but that still wasn't enough, so I repeated it...next time I'll do 1+ cup with some water) and to use almond flavoring instead of the vanilla. Everyone LOVED it--even people who didn't usually like flan! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This one is always a big hit when I take to pot-lucks! My absolute go-to recipe for Flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This flan was delicious!!!! This was my first time making it, and it still came out perfectly!(: I was really scared when I was making the sugar for the glaze, and I thought it was burning the second I put it in the pan. So don't be scared. It takes a good 3-5 minutes for it to have burning potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
A very good recipe with an excellent texture, however, if you let it cook until it looks set in the oven, it will be overdone. Eggs should be cooked until the reach 180 degrees for a perfectly cooked texture. I checked mine until it reached 178 in the center and then removed from the oven, letting it set the rest of the way from the residual heat. It was perfectly set and absolutely delicious. Another tip-- if you want an easier time with the sugar, add a splash of water and about a Tblsp of corn syrup. The sugar will still completely harden in the bottom of the pan but will be easier to handle as it caramelizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Made it for the first time and the people at the dinner we attended raved! I did use the Carnation sweetened condensed milk, and it was just perfect. I baked it just about 55 minutes. I only had a 9 1/2 in. pie pan, so I used that, and it was fine. I hope to find a cake pan next time for a better shape, but otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerChris85
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Very good Flan, instructions are easy to follow and its tasted heavenly. This was my first time making Flan and it was the best that I've ever tasted. My family loved it. The only thing the recipe does not say is after it comes out of the oven. I let mine cool down on a cooling rack for 20 minutes then I put it the fridge for up to 2 hours before I served it. Overall great recipe! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States