Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Easy to prepare following Beth's directions. Watching the video helped, too. Only difference for me and her instructions was the baking time. It took longer for the custard to set than 60 minutes at 350. For me, it was closer to two hours. But the finished result was yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
great & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was great tasting flan. However, I had to adjust the bake time. I had to bake it for about 1 hour 20 minutes. It still didn't appear to be set so I allowed it to cool and put it in the refrigerator over night. The following morning it was set and great tasting. I'm going to try it again and try baking it in two 9 inch glass pie plates in an attempt to fix the baking problem. Also, many other reviews were right, it's too much liquid for the blender. It spilled over. I'll try using the mixer in a bowl next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I am not a cook and rarely make a recipe. I followed the directions and everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Yum yum! Instead of heavy cream, I used a substitute that's 2/3 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of melted butter for every cup of heavy cream. Also, I ditched the extra one cup of milk and the texture is perfect! Everyone loved it. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was quick and easy. Beware, unless your blender is industrial size, this could be too much for it. The only problem I had is that my family members couldn't wait for it to cool and wanted to eat it all as soon as it came out of the oven. That's a good problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Very delicious recipe. It did however take quite a bit longer to cook than the recipe calls for. My family said it was the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very easy to make! Definitely a keeper! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Just made this and it's very yummy and easy to make. I used natural sugar that may burned a bit the white sugar will visibly brown much easier than a tan colored sugar. I also used the fat free condensed milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
For a smoother texture, i strain the custard before cooking and use less egg whites. Used 5 yolks and 3 whites. DO NOT MIX IN A BLENDER!!! That's considered a sin for making a flan. Flans shouldn't have any air bubbles in the custard or it will have a grainy texture after cooking. Mix the ingredients in a bowl using a spatula, not a balloon whisk in a circular motion. Traditionally, in the philippines, we steam it over the stove. Baking it takes a while and gets the tendency to overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States