Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this recipe was amazing, my friends said it was the best flan they ever had and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have avoided flan for years despite my love for this dessert. Well tonight I proved that I could make it! I thought I'd messed up royally because I just had a smear of crystallized sugar blob on the bottom of my pan. When it came out of the oven this golden liquid oozed out. It also only took mine 40ish minutes to bake. Good thing I checked. Thanks for boosting my confidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fabulous Christmas dessert. It was very helpful to read the additional reviews. I could not believe that the caramel would be soft and run down the custard - but it looked just like the picture. Today I tried them in individual ramekins. THis recipe makes about 10 3.5 ounce servings. I will unmold them this evening for dinner, hopefully it will just as good this way too. I baked them for about 40 minutes (hopefully not too long?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe for a Bunco get together and it was a hit. All of my gal pals loved it and even a few husbands were impressed. ;) I did mess up the sugar on my first try, but it came out great the second time. I also used my Kitchen Aid as opposed to a blender. Just make sure that you have a large/deep enough serving dish as this is a messy recipe. Messy, but very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Just to stress how delicious this recipe is, I want to tell a quick story: I live in a house of 60 and last night we had a special dinner where I got to try to experiment with this flan. I pre-measured all of the ingredients and had everything super organized. It was so organized and pretty looking that I ACCIDENTALLY PUT the 5 CUPS OF SUGAR IN THE MIX,-(in addition to all of the 7 cans of condensed milk!)- when they were supposed to be for the caramel sauce . I Freaked out but decided to bake the flan(s) anyway, excluding the caramel, of course. Well, it was a SUCCESS. My dessert was presented last out of three sweet desserts and people still LOVED it.I got many great comments. I could hardly believe it. I am really excited to try this recipe without the ton of sugar IN the mix, but rather in a delicious caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arscjc18
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did the recipe as is, and it was perfect!!! The texture, the taste, everything was perfect!!! My husband and brother couldn't get enough... My husband already told me that I have to make more! :) Would definitely make it again, SOON!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is very similar to the Spanish Flan (my favorite). I'm from Chile and this is a very popular dessert over there. A tip to prevent sugar from crystallizing is to add a few drops of lemon (2-4) while stirring the sugar in the pan. If you don't want to worry about burning the sugar, it's best to use the "wet" method which simply means adding a few drops of water (10-20) to the sugar so the sugar will be all wet but still solid in the pan and stir it until it becomes liquid and brown. You don't need to use the lemon when you use the "wet" method. Also, after you mix all the ingredients and pour the mix into a deep baking pan (like those for cakes), you place the baking pan on top of a "handless" deep pot that is filled with water half way. Then, you place both in the oven and cook it as per cooking time. I used to use a tooth pick or knife to check for consistency/texture before taking it out of the oven. Once the flan is ready, you prepare the caramel as per above instructions and pour it over the cooked flan when you are ready to serve it (not before!). Let it stand at room temp or in the fridge for about 20 minutes until the caramel is fixed to the top of the flan. I prefer to let it stand at room temp so only the top caramel will be solid at time of serving because it only takes a few seconds for the caramel to solidify. If still in doubt, check the recipe for Spanish Flan (which is the original) for detail instructions about the caramel. Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This easy-to-make dessert has a texture like velvet and was a huge hit at my dinner party. I will definitely make this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Who cares is its not a traditional flan? It's absolutely delicious and, except for caramelizing the sugar, a breeze to prepare. And the caramelizing is just a matter of standing at the stove and stir, stir, stirring until the sugar is a liquid-y golden brown. We had it cold and the entire family raved about the dessert. I just baked one for my granddaughter who's been bragging to her Spanish class about her grandmother's flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've made this twice. The second time it took me a while to figure out how to get the flan out of the dishes I used (I stuck a knife up the side and then it plopped out). The first time I served it warm and the second time cold; I liked it better warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States