Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
First thing to ever review out of all things I have made from the site. This is the BEST flan I have ever tasted or made, anywhere! Thanks so much, and if you have never had or made flan, make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
They need more stars for this recipe. Ive eaten flan all over the caribbean and this one is by far the best !! I use only whole milk in this recipe and as one reviewer said Eagle brand sweetened condensed milk is really sweet I prefer Carnation brand. Also when I melt the sugar I use 1 cup of sugar, 2 tablespoons water and 1 drop of lemon juice, this helps the sugar not harden as quickly so you can get it in your souffle' dishes or casserole dish and swirl it around before the sugar hardens. This is absolutly the best flan recipe ever. Thank You for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Flantastic!! Made my second flan and it came out terrific both times. I followed the recipe exactly both times and am very happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the first review I have ever posted. I was really nervous about making a flan but this recipe is so delicious and my book club raved about it. The important thing that this recipe does not tell you is how to caramelize the sugar. On my first attempt I think I stirred the sugar too much. I went on line and got instructions on how properly do the sugar. For one cup of sugar add 1/4 cup of water. Bring this to a boil. Will take approx 8 minutes and then it will start to darken. Don't stir just swirl. When it was a nice amber I easily poured it into my glass dish and swirled it around. Cooked it in water bath , chilled it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is so easy and insanely delicious! My husband is Cuban and told me I could sell this in a Cuban restaurant! I've made it twice, and this time I decided to make a lighter version (I used 1 cup cream and 1 cup half & half, and replaced the cup of whole milk with skim). It turned out just as good as the full fat version...you can't tell the difference!!! I baked it for exactly 50 minutes, and even though it was still quite "jiggly" in the middle I turned the oven off. I let it sit in the oven with the door cracked open for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, I took it out of the water bath, put it on a plate, and placed it in the fridge for 4 hours...it was cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I have been searching for this recipe for months! I just made perfect flan in a practice round and feel 100% confident it will meet my expectations for an upcoming dinner party. Thank you for sharing Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a delicious , mouth melting recipe! not too creamy, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is my favorite flan. It's been made a few times now and people love it and ask for the recipe. I had no problem mixing it in my blender all in one batch. Blend on low and don't think you need to run the blender long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I love this easy recipe. The cooking time was off- it baked for 1 hr and 30 min. Top was fine. I used my mixer. Everyone thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Melt in your mouth goodness. Taste so delicious. If you haven't tried this, you've got to give it a try. You'll want to eat the whole flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States