Baked Fish Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I think the problem with this resipe is in the term "chili sauce." If you make it with the cousin of cocktail sauce as people have been, I imagine it would be terrible. However, if you use more of a chili PASTE or a SAUCE MADE ONLY OF CHILIS, you get a very different result, spicy and delicious. I used a Vietnamese chili and garlic paste/sauce, and it was excellent. NOTE: DECREASE THE AMOUNT OF CHILI PASTE IF YOU WANT TO EAT IT!! A couple of tablespoons is plenty, even for us fire-mouthed southerners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This was delicious! I tried it on a fluke because I had fish that I needed to use, and I am so glad that I did! This is a regular favorite at my house now. You could use less rice and don’t be surprised if you need to bake it longer. Also, I don't usually keep chili sauce on hand, so I made my own with tomato puree, chili powder, cumin, and a small amount of vegetable oil. Add Creole seasoning for extra flavor! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
Tastes Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I liked this recipe, but I changed it a lot. I'll give you the details because my photo is currently the one up there. I didnt have hot pepper sauce or chili sauce, so at that point in the recipe I added 1/4 cup tomato paste and about 4 tablespoon creole seasoning. I also used Whiting filets instead of cod and broiled the fish instead of baking, combining all three parts at the end. This is how I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe was really gross. My husband says he can make anything taste good with hot sauce. Well, I just found the first recipe that he couldn't! We threw it out & had sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
well...I never had chili sauce before and I didn't know it was so much like cocktail sauce, which I can't stand. My boyfriend (who does like chili and cocktail sauces) didn't like this too much either. the sauce is really overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Tried this on my crew and they loved it. Had to make recipe larger and hotter. Used rotel instead of chili sauce and tomatoes. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I LOVED this recipe.. i was 'yum yum yum' all the way through ... Although i didnt add hot sauce as were not hot things lovers!! .. and i added chili sauce to taste but would probably add more next time.. and there WILL be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This went over well with my family for different reasons......my son enjoyed the rice, my husband liked the fish, I liked both the fish and the rice! I used swai, and I also used homemade chili sauce. I added tons of creole seasonings - Slap Yo Mama, Emerils, Old Bay, and extra Frank's hot sauce to make it nice and spicy. I think this would make a great rice sidedish too by leaving out the fish. We liked it well enough that I'll save the recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. The first time I made it I used 1/2 cup thai chili sauce and it was almost too spicey to eat. Since then I've experimented with 2 teaspoons thai chili sauce, hot sauce, and a ketchup/spice mix. I like it best with the spicey thai chili sauce but be careful how much you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States