Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I was afraid to try this recipe, since I've never had fennel, and always assumed I wouldn't care for it, since I *hate* the flavor of licorice. But after reading the reviews, I decided to give it a shot. Even as I was preparing it, I was skeptical, smelling the strong licorice scent coming from the fennel bulbs as I chopped them. I shouldn't have doubted the allrecipes reviewers so much! The finished product was sweet and almost nutty, creamy and delicious, and didn't taste even the tiniest bit like licorice. A perfect side dish, and a whole new veggie to add to the repetoire! Thanks so much for changing my mind. Also, thanks for the prep instructions for fennel-novices like me - made it easy to work with like I'd done it a million times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a great fennel dish but as usual I put my own touches to it. Only one fennel bulb so I sliced a few small red potatoes into it and added a small sliced onion. Used sour cream instead of creme fraiche and salt and fresh groung black pepper . DELISH!! Everyone raved and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I was very skeptical about making this - I don't much care for fennel's licorice taste - but this turned out pretty good. The fennel flavor was very mild, and complimented the Parmesan nicely. Oh, I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Love fennel, both raw and cooked, and like it baked with Parmesan too. I won't be making this particular fennel recipe again, however, as it just was nothing special at all except for it being fennel in a lot of cream. Boring dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I made this using yogurt instead of creme fraiche as creme fraiche is hard to find in Aussie supermarkets. I sorta guessed the other quantities but whatever I did it turned out really yummy. An impressive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This dish was really great! I was nervous because I don't like the taste of raw fennel, but when cooked it loses that harsh licorice flavor and tastes wonderful. I did add one cup of creme fraiche and I know I added about a 1/2 cup of cheese. I have also used sour cream instead of creme fraiche and it works just as well. Great dish, I'm really glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
What a nice surprise this dish is, simple and delicious and a great way to use this overlooked vegetable. Can't wait to serve it at my next dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Delicious! We both ate two servings and I could have eaten another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Loved this recipe. Very delicious tasting and pretty presentation. I definitely plan on serving this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was a wonderful side dish. Beautiful out of the oven, and a nice mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States