Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I used flavored cooking creme instead of creme fraiche. Tatsed pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not quite sure what I did wrong. I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche as others had and baked as instructed. All the fats separated during baking and the end results look like curdled cheese. It didn't look or taste appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I was part of a CSA & received a bunch of fennel but had no idea what to do with it. I made this recipe for a dinner night with friends and everyone was so impressed by how good it was. If I ever end up with that much fennel again I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAGDYANN422

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this the another night, I used sour cream, since I didn't have creme fraiche. My husband loved it. I will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Omitted the creme fraiche. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I had never cooked fennel before and was looking for a recipe. Smothered in cheese, I guess nothing can be too terrible. This dish was ok - not great. Probably won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I just finished eating and felt compelled to make a review. I loved it! I didn't taste the 'licorice' but my husband said he could...he hates fennel and still loved it. I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. I'd change one thing: mixed in some parmesan with the cream sauce not just a sprinkling on top. I sprinkled on a little salt and pepper after it was done. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I had no idea what to do with 2 fennel bulbs that came in a weekly veggie box I got. I'm happy to say this recipe was well received. Used heavy whipping cream instead of half-n-half and creme fraiche, also used a bit more cheese. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Kawakami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
very good - next time saute fennel with garlic approx 5 minutes. Mix together cream and sour creme remove fennel let cool slightly then mix with the cream and sour cream mix together, top with parmesan cheese and bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaverized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a great vegetable dish! I used milk in place of half-and-half and yogurt in place of the creme fraiche, mixing the milk and yogurt into a slurry before adding them to the pan, and it tasted great! I also added some pepper. Minced garlic might be a good addition too. Good stuff; my husband thought it was artichoke hearts in cream sauce at first - very mild flavor. Next time I would cut the fennel into smaller pieces to make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States