Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was surprised this turned out as well as it did, considering the changes I made and my inability to read directions. I substituted light red kidney beans (blasphemy, I know, but it was that or black beans) and a tablespoon or so of dried parsley for the fresh (working with what I had on hand here). I also just mashed everything together with a potato masher since I don't have a food processor. And by everything, I mean I included the oil, since I didn't pay attention to the directions. Speaking of which, I let the mixture sit for 15 minutes prior to shaping it instead of after. I decided to skip the baking part, since it was too hot out, and just scooped heaping spoonfuls onto the skillet (ungreased) and cooked them like pancakes, a few minutes apiece. Tasty! But they were best when piping hot, and seemed to lose flavor as they cooled. This made about 8 silver-dollar falafelcakes (really 6, plus about 2 more worth of scraps and broken bits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Really easy and good. They held together very nicely. I'll make a few changes to suit our tastes next time (more salt, cilantro instead of parsley, some hot pepper sauce), but this recipe is going into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I agree with another tester here...I doubled the spices as well, and I suggest you do if you've had this kind of ethnic food and are used to the stronger spice flavours, which makes this recipe wonderful. I used whole grain flour..it made me feel better!! I made smaller patties, fried them up in a frying pan as instructed and finished them in the oven for the required 10 minutes...this helps alot with expelling more moisture. I paired this with Chef John's Tzatziki sauce and soft warmed up pita bread....OMG, it's a staple now at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Be careul not to over-process the chickpeas! The flavours are good and adding a bit of tzatziki... divine! Also, don't over-fry or they will end up dry. Other than that, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Loved that I had everything in my pantry already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
a tad dry but good. thought seasonings as written were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Recipe was great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Amazing. No changes just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I skipped the whole pan-frying step, and just baked them in my oven on a Silpat. The outside was crisp, and the inside was tender. Great flavor! I doubled the recipe so that I could have enough for lunch the next day. I did add double the amount of coriander, but that is just my own preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made this tonight and loved how easy it was. I didn't bake it in the oven though. Now I wonder if that would have made it crunchier? I wonder if dredging in cornmeal would add more of the crunch I had the first time I tried falafal at a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Purnell-Berberich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States