Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fabulous! Substituted flour for bread crumbs just because I like the texture. Made 16 ping pong ball sized patties instead of the four large...way too big. Served on pita with tabouli. Perfect!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The recipe was okay. The patties didn't fall apart on me but they were dry and bland. I'm not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Eh. The batter was so runny I added extra flour. Baked them for the entirety of cooking. Better after they'd sat for maybe 20 minutes, but overall just eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
AMAZING! but instead of parsley i added cilantro and green onion. i had never made felafel before but it turned out fantastic. didnt use the skillet either, just baked them on 400 for 20 min. thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was surprised this turned out as well as it did, considering the changes I made and my inability to read directions. I substituted light red kidney beans (blasphemy, I know, but it was that or black beans) and a tablespoon or so of dried parsley for the fresh (working with what I had on hand here). I also just mashed everything together with a potato masher since I don't have a food processor. And by everything, I mean I included the oil, since I didn't pay attention to the directions. Speaking of which, I let the mixture sit for 15 minutes prior to shaping it instead of after. I decided to skip the baking part, since it was too hot out, and just scooped heaping spoonfuls onto the skillet (ungreased) and cooked them like pancakes, a few minutes apiece. Tasty! But they were best when piping hot, and seemed to lose flavor as they cooled. This made about 8 silver-dollar falafelcakes (really 6, plus about 2 more worth of scraps and broken bits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Really easy and good. They held together very nicely. I'll make a few changes to suit our tastes next time (more salt, cilantro instead of parsley, some hot pepper sauce), but this recipe is going into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I agree with another tester here...I doubled the spices as well, and I suggest you do if you've had this kind of ethnic food and are used to the stronger spice flavours, which makes this recipe wonderful. I used whole grain flour..it made me feel better!! I made smaller patties, fried them up in a frying pan as instructed and finished them in the oven for the required 10 minutes...this helps alot with expelling more moisture. I paired this with Chef John's Tzatziki sauce and soft warmed up pita bread....OMG, it's a staple now at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Be careul not to over-process the chickpeas! The flavours are good and adding a bit of tzatziki... divine! Also, don't over-fry or they will end up dry. Other than that, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Loved that I had everything in my pantry already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
a tad dry but good. thought seasonings as written were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States