Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really good! It was our first time eating falafel, and we really enjoyed it. My dad watched me mixing up the chickpea mush and was not impressed at all with what I was serving (he's pretty skeptical of any meatless dish), but he ate it all up and said it was awesome! You know it's good if you get him to say so :) I didn't bother with the cheesecloth, just patted the onion with some paper towel to take out some moisture. I also just cooked completely on the stovetop as it's ridiculously hot here today and I didn't want to heat up both the stove and the oven. But when I make again, I'd love to try the oven to make it a bit healthier (but I guess a couple tbsp of olive oil never killed anyone!) They came out great, nice and crispy, from frying. We ate them inside warmed up pitas, with tzatziki sauce, and tabouli on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love these sooo much. I used sprouted garbanzo beans (chickpeas) that I had on hand instead of canned. Did not cook them. I am vegan so I used flax meal ( grounded flax seed) one spoon flax seed mixed with 3 spoons of water. I backed them and they were great. Will definatley do again...I might even try to dehydrate it for a raw version ..without the flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was my first time trying falafel and I loved it. The only change I made was using ww flour instead and ap. I served them the way the author recommended: in a a pita with tzatziki sauce. It was a great, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These turned out really good. I used different spices but used the same onion/flour/baking soda and they had a great texture. I ate these as burgers with avocado, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great! What an easy, healthful, and inexpensive dinner. I sauteed in olive oil spray in a non-stick pan. Baked on parchment paper. My picky eater husband really liked them - I served them with hummus, grape leaves, feta, pita, and sliced tomatoes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was fantastic - so easy to make, and my husband and I agreed that it had amazing real falafel flavor! I'll add a bit more salt next time I make it. I also used chickpea flour rather than all-purpose flour. I served these with pita bread and homemade tzatziki, along with a cabbage and parsley salad. Delish! I highly recommend this for your first time making falafel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was nothing like authentic falafels. The consistancy is completely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Great recipe and I am not even a vegetarian. I made 2 bathes already. Easy thing to take to work for breakfast, even cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee Karma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I did use Whole Wheat flour in stead of all-purpose. Just made me feel better :) I thought this recipe was so flavorful. I warmed mini pitas in the toaster. If you cut a little slit in them and put the slit down first into the toaster, the pita poofs up. It is perfect with this falafel, some avocado and tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Perfect! I made them as written except I doubled the recipe and skipped the stove-top step. I scooped them out onto a lightly oiled baking pan and baked them about 15 minutes. They held together beautifully and taste wonderful on a warm pita. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Howery Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States