Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I thought these were great! Pretty easy to prepare as well. I don't have much to compare it to since I've only had falafel one other time, but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good. I made them into balls and used them in fondue - they went over VERY well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was skeptical of how "runny" the mixture was when I was forming it into patties, only b/c I've always made falafel w/ at least 1/3 c. breadcrumbs (as opposed to a mere 1 TB flour), but Shazam!! I'm so glad that I tried this recipe b/c these were outstanding! My first recommendation though is to lightly sautee the garlic and onions in a little olive oil b4 mixing into the chickpeas and spices. I also skipped the pan-fry and simply baked them at 400 for 30 min., flipping and smooshing them half-way through. Served them in warm flatbread w/ the recipe from here for "Zucchini Salad with Yogurt and Walnuts" (which is really more like a tzatziki) and we inhaled these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I love falafel, but have always been too intimated to make it from scratch. This is totally approachable and totally yummy. The baking was a great way to cut the fat, but the quick pan fry kept that deep fried flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shirley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is the first time I've ever made falafel and I don't need to search any further for other recipes. Very good and so easy. I just threw everything in the food processor. Didn't even bother squeezing the onion. I didn't have coriander so I just added a dash of curry powder for the heck of it. They were a bit mushy and had to handle them carefully until I got them into the skillet. I didn't bother with the oven. 5 min. on each side in the skillet. and they were nice and crispy on the outside. Served in pita pockets with Tabbouleh III (from this site) and Tzatziki (combination of Tzatziki Sauce I and II from this site) and was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Didn't taste like felafel to me, even tahini couldn't save it. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe! I loved it, as did my wife and my 2.5 yr old as well! The 10 yr old was on the fence but she did try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was pretty good. I doubled the recipe, but with 2 eggs, it was just too liquidy, so I added some bread crumbs. I also did not fry it, but just baked it for 20 minutes or so. I made it into 8 smaller patties and froze some raw for work week lunches. I will probably make this again. The frozen patties cooked up nicely in the toaster oven at work and were tasty torn up into a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justme

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This one is easy and had very good texture and flavor. I simplified the steps a bit by processing the onion, parsley and garlic cloves together with just a few pulses first, then adding the beans, soda and seasoning, and finally, hand mixing in the flour and egg. Patties held together well for me and were easy to form. I also like that this one scales easily, so I doubled the recipe and froze the extra patties individually which will be a great time saver for another meal. Since they were already in the frying pan according to the directions, I saved on cleanup by keeping them there for about 5 minutes a side, rather than transfer to the oven. I would either bake or fry these, but I wouldn't bother doing both. This is a great recipe and the one I will use for falafel from now on. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really good! It was our first time eating falafel, and we really enjoyed it. My dad watched me mixing up the chickpea mush and was not impressed at all with what I was serving (he's pretty skeptical of any meatless dish), but he ate it all up and said it was awesome! You know it's good if you get him to say so :) I didn't bother with the cheesecloth, just patted the onion with some paper towel to take out some moisture. I also just cooked completely on the stovetop as it's ridiculously hot here today and I didn't want to heat up both the stove and the oven. But when I make again, I'd love to try the oven to make it a bit healthier (but I guess a couple tbsp of olive oil never killed anyone!) They came out great, nice and crispy, from frying. We ate them inside warmed up pitas, with tzatziki sauce, and tabouli on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States