Baked Fake Steak with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This recipe tastes great and easy to make. The whole family loved it. It was enough to fill up the family including 2 teenage boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Nice Salisbury Steak substitute... I like to add extra mushrooms and serve over mashed potatoes. Downside - I tend to eat waaaaay too much of this recipe based on the goodness factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I really like this recipe - make sure you crush the Saltine crackers up quite well! The gravy was really good, but needs mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
My family loved it, especially my teenaged cousins and my own teenagers, lol. I did use a little gravy flour to thicken the gravy. It was a cross between salsbury steak and meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
The name may not be quite right,(it in no way reminds one of steak), but the flavor wasn't bad. I could not find the mushroom soup with beef, so I used the mushroom soup and some beef granuels,which worked fine. I won't make this again though...sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Very good! I took a big shortcut though, made the meat mixture, shaped it into oval 'burgers', browned on both sides, topped it w/fresh mushrooms, then the gravy mixture. Then I covered it, brought it to a boil, turned it down to a simmer, and let it cook for 15 minutes. My teenaged boys and husband loved it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
As mentioned before, this is nothing like steak but more like a cross between salisbury steak and meatloaf. The flavor is good but I didn't feel the results were worth the hassle of making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Wasn't worth the trouble though it was pretty good. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
We changed the servings to feed 70 people for an appreciation dinner and got lots of great comments on it! We served it with rice and the gravy went well with it! Many people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
My family loved this!! I have a little guy who is very picky, and getting him to eat meat is like pulling teeth. He DEVOURED this, and asked for seconds. It's a nice simple meal, with a good taste, even if it's not steak :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States