Baked Fake Steak with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I just love this baked fake steak with gravy but I do something a little different. I use the George Foreman Grill to cook the hamburger steak. Then I put the hamburger steak and gravy mix in a crockpot for 6-8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was good but not great. My husband thought the hamburger was too dry. I used extra lean ground round so that might be the problem. Again as with most of the recipes that have a gravy with them it should be doubled. My family LOVES gravy. I made the dish with butter noodles and I thought it was just fine. I will make it again and pass it on to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
MADE THIS UNDER AN HOUR--CHANGED MY MIND DIDNT WANT JUST HAMBURGERS FOR SUPPER--MIXED INGREDIENTS(SCALED BACK TO 4 SERVINGS) AND ADDED JUST ONION DICED W/SPICES OF YOUR CHOICE WITH THE SALTINE CRACKERS--BROWNED ON STOVETOP AND THEN PUT A MIX OF 1 CAN CREAM MUSHROOM SOUP AND 1 CAN(KROGER BRAND) MUSHROOM OR BROWN GRAVY OVER TOP OF MEAT THEN PUT IN 400 OVEN FOR ABOUT 40 MINUTES--QUICK AND COMFORTING I SERVED WITH MASHED POTATOES AND PEAS. WILL MAKE AGAIN .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe the next time I made it. I added 2 packages of onion soup mix, 1 regular size box of stovetop stuffing mix, worchestershire sauce. My family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
For flavor everyone gave it a three star, but it is getting a one because of the amount of work involved. I should have followed another reviews suggestion of patting off the grease after cooking. Too much grease involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
It is a lot like Salisbury Steak. I used beef broth and it worked well. I made mashed potatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Very good. Similar to the frozen salisbury steak, but, of course, way more yummy. Whole family enjoyed. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I followed advice from other reviews and skipped the process of pressing the meat mixture into the pan. Instead I made hand pressed patties. I also skipped the oil, and fried them in a nonstick pan. To thicken the gravy before pouring over the patties, I added 2 Tablespoons of flour. I changed the recipe to serve 20, so I could use 5 lbs of meat. I then froze half of the uncooked patties for a future meal (saves time). This would make great meatballs as well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I knew this wasn't going to be gourmet, but I was hoping for a little more flavor. I think I prefer the slow cooker Salisbury steak recipe on this site. Thanks, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
this recipe has amazing potential! i made it the first time exactly as the recipe listed and it turned out ok. the second time i changed a few things and it was amazing! first, you must pat off the grease before moving the meat to the baking dish. if you skip this step the gravey becomes a greasy yucky mess. second, add an egg, some parm cheese, and bread crumbs in place of the crackers. it makes everything stick together better and is more flavorable than just the saltines. this is definately worth a try... delicious! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States