Baked Fake Steak with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I used the George Foreman Grill instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The flavor of the meat is good. However, the grease makes it almost unedible. I used 80/20 ground chuck....my mistake. I might try this again with super lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very tasty. Made exactly as recipe said. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to double the sauce. Everything was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My entire family loves this recipe--even my step-son who hates mushrooms (he just picks around them). This is definitely one of my favorite recipes for those nights I just want something easy to cook. Plus the leftovers are great for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! This is a keeper because everyone in the family enjoys it every time I make it, which is about once a week. I have been making it for several years now and I have perfected it for my family. I add a slightly beaten egg and parmesan cheese to the ground beef mixture, use ground up butter crackers to bind it all together, use beef broth in place of water, golden mushroom soup instead of beef and mushroom soup, and top it off with sauteed fresh mushrooms. Browning the steaks in butter over medium high heat (to get a nice brown without cooking it all the way through) then placing in baking dish, pouring the gravy over them and baking uncovered at 300 to 325 for about an hour makes the best, most flavorful, juicest beefy steaks, but I have also just put the raw patties in the baking dish and covered with gravy and baked uncovered at 350 for about an hour. Serve with mashed potatoes and green beans or corn on the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I tried this recipe as written. I have a guest at the moment and my daughter has been going on and on about my cooking abilities, and though he has seen most of them, they were very POORLY represented in this dish. I recall reading the reviews and thinking this would be an easy dish, and though it was easy to prepare, it was a very disappointing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMERALDSEYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
My family and I absolutely loved this! I made patties like some of the other reviewers,used the egg/parmesan cheese/breadcrumbs mix and I doubled the gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Excellent! I will be making this a lot I am sure. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne Rodriquez Shosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Made this for dinner last night and my husband and picky 4yo really liked it. I followed another reviewer's shortcut adivice and made in on the stove top (electric skillet actually), and topped it w/mushrooms. Also added an extra can of soup and gravy packet - the gravy wasgreat over mashed potatoes! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie Miller Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I found this recipe delicious! It also pleased my boyfriend and 3 year old daughter, who are very picky. I did the shortcut the first reader suggested, and instead of beef and mushroom soup (since we don't like mushrooms) I used french onion. It was great! Thanks for the spectacular recipe, it became an instant favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Sometimes my wife wants what she calls "plain food," and this makes the grade in that category. Next time I'll double the amount of gravy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States