Baked Eggplant with Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
So good, I made it sugar free too using stevia and the cream.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very encouraging reviews. I can't wait to try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Edible, but a very strange combination of flavors that didn't blend and turned out very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Delicious! I just made it and my family loved it. I didn't have soy milk or heavy cream so I twisted the recipe a little putting ricotta cheese and cottage cheese instead and also didn't have cashews so I just added peanuts. in addition, I made the mistake of pouring the cheese mix before the breadcrumb mixture, so I added another layer of the cheese mix....very tasty.. Baked it for 45 mins instead. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
i baked the eggplant for about 10minutes before hand, and even the 30 minutes in the oven was not enough, i added an additional 10-15. The mixture between the eggplant was a bit mushy (did not use the heavy cream since I am lactose intolerant), but it did taste pretty good despite expecting a different, more crunchy consistency....the olives add a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
We made this with the extra chopped cashews one reviewer recommended, and because another reviewer felt it took longer to cook, I gave it just two minutes in the micro to help it along after the half your baking time. I thought it was wonderful, and if it is a vegetarian dish, non-vegetarians are missing a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I absoulutely loved this! I brought it to a vegetarian lunch and everyone raved about it. I used honey in place of the brown sugar and incorporated it into the tomato mixture as opposed to the bread crumbs. I used cottage cheese in place of the heavy cream, and made 1 1/2 recipes of the cashew sauce. Topped with freshley grated parmigiano reggiano cheese during the last 10 minutes, and let brown. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This came out mushy and all-around not very good. I did make a few modifications to use what I had - used Italian bread crumbs instead of wheat, green bell pepper instead of red, omitted the olives, and cow's milk instead of soy. I also took another reviewers recommendation and precooked all of the veggies before arranging them in the dish. It was more work than it's worth and we threw the left-overs away b/c neither of us could imagine eating it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I was skeptical, because 1/2 an hour in the oven didnt seem like enough time to cook everything, but it sounded good, and the other reviewers convinced me. It wasn't enough! After an hour (hour and a half?), we gave up. The bottom layer was soft, and cooked, the top was hard and raw...along with all the onions. If you attempt this, be sure to cook everything thoroughly, then put it in the oven to heat through. But I'm not sure it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I brought this recipe to a potlock party. I added chopped cashews in the mixture and on top. It was a great addition. Everyone loved it, even the non-vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States