Baked Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
The batter measurements are absurdly overestimated- cut the flour and bread crumbs in half or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Very good with a great texture! I reduced salt and used feta cheese instead of goat cheese since that was what I had on hand. Omitted the molasses. I was estimating dried herbs on the fly and think I could have added a bit more. I will try again with fresh herbs and update, but otherwise I really enjoyed it. Great variation on eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made some changes but totally awesome recipe. Added sauteed spinach, and tried a instant potato coating. Its the bomb. No pomegranate molasses but I'm very happy how mine turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was indeed tasty and my boyfriend requests it often. The difference is though... he didn't cook it! My issue with this was it felt more like a snack... not a meal, and it surely took more than 15 minutes of prep time. I ended up eating and then finishing off the rest of the eggplants after my first serving only because it was taking too long. Like I said though it was yummy and worth it if you've got a craving for cheese and/or eggplant. Also- I didn't use the pomegranate molasses (no idea what the heck that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dangtamberine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
loved these! I didn't put the molasses on. Also, I couldn't get the breadcrumbs to stick on well so I added more on after I flipped them in the oven and they seemed to stay. I would put a little less salt and pepper in the breadcrumbs next time. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I modified my recipe by adding sauted squash and mushrooms to my "sandwich."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made the exactly as it as written. Except no added salt, it's not needed in this recipe. I used the pomegranate molasses recipe from this site as well, really easy with only 3 ingredients. Would be great as an appetizer, just making the eggplant slices smaller. Quite possibly one of the best recipes I have found on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was a nice break from the same old dinners. It was a great sandwich although the leftovers didn't hold up so well. I didn't have pomegranite molasses and didn't use anything as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were so delish! It did take me a long time to make. Longer than the prep and cook time, but I think I'm slower and more meticulous than some people. The adjustments I made were minor, but for other cooks I'll list them. I made mine for 3 servings - used 1 cup of quinoa flakes since I only had 1/2 cup of panko - this was a very good addition. I used dried basil and did reduce salt by 1/2 teaspoon, which I thought was just right. My provolone cheese was not the sharp kind - it was the smoked kind. The pomegranate molasses is a very nice flavorful touch and the recipe for making some is on this website. It lasts in the refrigerator for a long time [kind of like simple syrup does.] I had a great beer with it Blanche De Bruxelles - Biere Blanche White Beer. Yummy! Final note - this tastes close to a wonderful sandwich we have eaten at a local Mediterranean restaurant called Cafe Rakka in Hendersonville, TN - which was featured on "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" back in Oct. - except theirs is on pita bread. Again amazing - thank you Joenaujokas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pomegranate molasses is tangy not sweet, so cannot be replaced with any other molasses. I would replace it with tamarind soaked in water or balsamic vinegar if I don't have pomegranate molasses. Also, Halloumi cheese (which is goat cheese) goes well with eggplant not any other type of goat cheese. If I don't have halloumi cheese, I would use mozzarella cheese not a goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaam

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States