Baked Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
The batter measurements are absurdly overestimated- cut the flour and bread crumbs in half or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Very good with a great texture! I reduced salt and used feta cheese instead of goat cheese since that was what I had on hand. Omitted the molasses. I was estimating dried herbs on the fly and think I could have added a bit more. I will try again with fresh herbs and update, but otherwise I really enjoyed it. Great variation on eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made some changes but totally awesome recipe. Added sauteed spinach, and tried a instant potato coating. Its the bomb. No pomegranate molasses but I'm very happy how mine turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was indeed tasty and my boyfriend requests it often. The difference is though... he didn't cook it! My issue with this was it felt more like a snack... not a meal, and it surely took more than 15 minutes of prep time. I ended up eating and then finishing off the rest of the eggplants after my first serving only because it was taking too long. Like I said though it was yummy and worth it if you've got a craving for cheese and/or eggplant. Also- I didn't use the pomegranate molasses (no idea what the heck that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dangtamberine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
loved these! I didn't put the molasses on. Also, I couldn't get the breadcrumbs to stick on well so I added more on after I flipped them in the oven and they seemed to stay. I would put a little less salt and pepper in the breadcrumbs next time. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I modified my recipe by adding sauted squash and mushrooms to my "sandwich."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made the exactly as it as written. Except no added salt, it's not needed in this recipe. I used the pomegranate molasses recipe from this site as well, really easy with only 3 ingredients. Would be great as an appetizer, just making the eggplant slices smaller. Quite possibly one of the best recipes I have found on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was a nice break from the same old dinners. It was a great sandwich although the leftovers didn't hold up so well. I didn't have pomegranite molasses and didn't use anything as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were so delish! It did take me a long time to make. Longer than the prep and cook time, but I think I'm slower and more meticulous than some people. The adjustments I made were minor, but for other cooks I'll list them. I made mine for 3 servings - used 1 cup of quinoa flakes since I only had 1/2 cup of panko - this was a very good addition. I used dried basil and did reduce salt by 1/2 teaspoon, which I thought was just right. My provolone cheese was not the sharp kind - it was the smoked kind. The pomegranate molasses is a very nice flavorful touch and the recipe for making some is on this website. It lasts in the refrigerator for a long time [kind of like simple syrup does.] I had a great beer with it Blanche De Bruxelles - Biere Blanche White Beer. Yummy! Final note - this tastes close to a wonderful sandwich we have eaten at a local Mediterranean restaurant called Cafe Rakka in Hendersonville, TN - which was featured on "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" back in Oct. - except theirs is on pita bread. Again amazing - thank you Joenaujokas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pomegranate molasses is tangy not sweet, so cannot be replaced with any other molasses. I would replace it with tamarind soaked in water or balsamic vinegar if I don't have pomegranate molasses. Also, Halloumi cheese (which is goat cheese) goes well with eggplant not any other type of goat cheese. If I don't have halloumi cheese, I would use mozzarella cheese not a goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaam

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States