Baked Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was extremely happy with this recipe! I tried to make Eggplant Parmesan only once before. I fried it and it was a soggy, oily disaster. This recipe was amazingly simple and very, very good. The eggplant stayed firm and crisp. The only changes I made was to bake for 7 minutes each side before assembling (instead of 5) and I used homemade tomato sauce instead of a jarred variety. Actually, I forgot to peel it too, but it made no difference and didn't detract at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
What a wonderful recipe. This is my first attempt at ever making eggplant parmesan. My husband picked two eggplants from the garden, so I thought this would be a good way to use them up. What drew me to this recipe is, the eggplant is baked and not fried. My husband and I don't care for fried foods. I followed the recipe pretty closly, but I went by another review and baked the eggplant for 7 mins on each side.1 8oz bag of shreeded mozzarella cheese was enough. The pan was pretty full, and i was afraid it wouldn't be cooked enough, so I put it in the oven for 50 mins. It was perfect. My husband loved it. I made a salad and served Italian bread with it. We have enough eggplant for leftovers tomorrow night. Thanks so much for such a great and easy recipe. This will be a keeper in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe very much. The eggplant wasn't soggy! I halved the recipe, so I only had one layer, but it was perfect. We are not huge red sauce fans, so we went light on it and two of my kids ate it. And I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
so salty.... will try again some other recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I made this for my mom's bday as this is her favorite dish...it was excellent..loved baking eggplant and didn't take away from flavour at all...in fact made it better...not greasy!! I made and cooked it the night before and wasn't sure how it would turn out..took out of fridge about 1 before reheating...reheated at 325 for about 45 minutes. I got nothing but compliments for this dish!! Will definitely make again!! Baked eggplant for 10 minutes on each side..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made this twice. I love the method of baking rather than frying the eggplant. It's quick, simple, much less messy than frying the eggplant first, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Nice, easy and quick to prepare. Very tasty. Served it over bow tie pasta. 35 minutes was a bit long - will try 28 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrmom86
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
never had eggplant before bought to try out and this was the recipe i made followed to the t and my wife loved it making again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmom86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Baking the eggplant meant it was crispy but did not suck up the oil as it had when I tried a different recipe which called for frying. It turned out actually better than some restaurant versions. Using a bought ragu sauce certainly makes it quick and easy to prepare. This will be a frequent dinner in this house! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Just awesome! Liked baking the eggplant versus pan frying. Original recipe says 5 minutes per side and it takes at least 8-10 minutes per. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States