Baked Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was extremely happy with this recipe! I tried to make Eggplant Parmesan only once before. I fried it and it was a soggy, oily disaster. This recipe was amazingly simple and very, very good. The eggplant stayed firm and crisp. The only changes I made was to bake for 7 minutes each side before assembling (instead of 5) and I used homemade tomato sauce instead of a jarred variety. Actually, I forgot to peel it too, but it made no difference and didn't detract at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by mrmom86
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
never had eggplant before bought to try out and this was the recipe i made followed to the t and my wife loved it making again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmom86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe very much. The eggplant wasn't soggy! I halved the recipe, so I only had one layer, but it was perfect. We are not huge red sauce fans, so we went light on it and two of my kids ate it. And I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
It was great. It was easier to bake the eggplant than frying it. I used 3/4 of a large eggplant and made homemade breadcrumbs with 2 pieces of bread + parmesan + Italian seasonings in food processor. I was able to stretch 1/2 a jar of pasta sauce. Delicious- it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is the first time I cook eggplant at all. This recipe was simple and delicious. My picky preschooler liked it, also my toddler: that is a testimony enough. Because I was not sure how they'd react to an eggplant dish, which is not typically on our menu, and I only had one eggplant, I added some pasta to it. I boiled some whole wheat rotini (about half of a box) and layered sauce, pasta, cheese, then sauce, eggplant and cheese. I had some leftover from the bread crumbs and Parmesan mixture and I sprinkled that on top. It was delicious fresh, and the next day as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I previously thought I didn't like eggplant and this recipe totally changed my mind. After getting one in our CSA my husband decided to give it a second chance and we realized we had everything we needed for this recipe and gave it a shot. It's delicious! We only salted ours for about 20 minutes and it wasn't bitter at all. I didn't have Italian bread crumbs, so I used regular crumbs seasoned with garlic and onion powder, oregano, and parsley. We had fresh mozzarella so we sliced that as one of the layers and used the parmesan on top. We also used fresh basil because we got that in our CSA also. Completely delicious and I already bought another eggplant to recreate the dish sometime later this week. Thanks for making me an eggplant convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
What a wonderful recipe. This is my first attempt at ever making eggplant parmesan. My husband picked two eggplants from the garden, so I thought this would be a good way to use them up. What drew me to this recipe is, the eggplant is baked and not fried. My husband and I don't care for fried foods. I followed the recipe pretty closly, but I went by another review and baked the eggplant for 7 mins on each side.1 8oz bag of shreeded mozzarella cheese was enough. The pan was pretty full, and i was afraid it wouldn't be cooked enough, so I put it in the oven for 50 mins. It was perfect. My husband loved it. I made a salad and served Italian bread with it. We have enough eggplant for leftovers tomorrow night. Thanks so much for such a great and easy recipe. This will be a keeper in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Just awesome! Liked baking the eggplant versus pan frying. Original recipe says 5 minutes per side and it takes at least 8-10 minutes per. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I coated with flour first then egg and panko. Fried instead of baked. very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States