Baked Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
What a wonderful recipe. This is my first attempt at ever making eggplant parmesan. My husband picked two eggplants from the garden, so I thought this would be a good way to use them up. What drew me to this recipe is, the eggplant is baked and not fried. My husband and I don't care for fried foods. I followed the recipe pretty closly, but I went by another review and baked the eggplant for 7 mins on each side.1 8oz bag of shreeded mozzarella cheese was enough. The pan was pretty full, and i was afraid it wouldn't be cooked enough, so I put it in the oven for 50 mins. It was perfect. My husband loved it. I made a salad and served Italian bread with it. We have enough eggplant for leftovers tomorrow night. Thanks so much for such a great and easy recipe. This will be a keeper in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was extremely happy with this recipe! I tried to make Eggplant Parmesan only once before. I fried it and it was a soggy, oily disaster. This recipe was amazingly simple and very, very good. The eggplant stayed firm and crisp. The only changes I made was to bake for 7 minutes each side before assembling (instead of 5) and I used homemade tomato sauce instead of a jarred variety. Actually, I forgot to peel it too, but it made no difference and didn't detract at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe very much. The eggplant wasn't soggy! I halved the recipe, so I only had one layer, but it was perfect. We are not huge red sauce fans, so we went light on it and two of my kids ate it. And I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
so salty.... will try again some other recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I made this for my mom's bday as this is her favorite dish...it was excellent..loved baking eggplant and didn't take away from flavour at all...in fact made it better...not greasy!! I made and cooked it the night before and wasn't sure how it would turn out..took out of fridge about 1 before reheating...reheated at 325 for about 45 minutes. I got nothing but compliments for this dish!! Will definitely make again!! Baked eggplant for 10 minutes on each side..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made this twice. I love the method of baking rather than frying the eggplant. It's quick, simple, much less messy than frying the eggplant first, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Nice, easy and quick to prepare. Very tasty. Served it over bow tie pasta. 35 minutes was a bit long - will try 28 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrmom86
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
never had eggplant before bought to try out and this was the recipe i made followed to the t and my wife loved it making again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmom86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Baking the eggplant meant it was crispy but did not suck up the oil as it had when I tried a different recipe which called for frying. It turned out actually better than some restaurant versions. Using a bought ragu sauce certainly makes it quick and easy to prepare. This will be a frequent dinner in this house! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Just awesome! Liked baking the eggplant versus pan frying. Original recipe says 5 minutes per side and it takes at least 8-10 minutes per. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States