Baked Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I want to start off saying this recipe is very forgiving! It was absolutely wonderful and I was pressed for time, so I didn't skin the eggplant, nor did I sweat it for (3) hours. I only sweated for (1) hour. I did follow other suggestions and baked the eggplant at 375 degrees for 15 minutes per side. I wanted them really firm so they wouldn't get soggy sitting in the marinara while baking. And they didn't burn. They were nice and crunchy, and I can't cut slices precisely so some were thicker than others and none of them burnt! I don't know about others, but I needed more marinara sauce than (1) can. But I like mine saucy to slather on my noodles. I served over angel hair and I'll say it again! I loved it! And this is my first time ever making or trying eggplant Parmesan. But other than the prep instructions I followed this recipe to the T. This is going to in my cook book! To note, I used Sea Salt to sweat them, and I don't like salt and didn't think this tasted salty at all. It might have been because I used Sea Salt which isn't so "salty" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I have made this exactly as directed several times. It's perfect just the way shown. Be sure to rinse off the salt and dry the eggplant. OMIT THE SALT !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
This was really good. I haven't done a baked eggplant parm before, but this was actually crunchier than my usual fried version. Modifications: -I baked the breaded slices for 10 minutes on each side at 350 and noticed the bread crumbs weren't browning. So, I adjusted the oven temp to 400 and gave them about 4 minutes on each side (watch so it doesn't get burned!!) and that was perfect. I got my crispy, browned, but cooked eggplant. -I only had mozzarella on hand, and that was just fine taste-wise, though I added a little more salt than usual so that I'd still have the salty flavor that parmesan cheese usually lends. -I had panko bread crumbs (not Italian) so I just seasoned them up with some dried herbs, salt, and pepper. OVERALL= YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Just tried this baked eggplant recipe & we LOVED IT. Always hated frying eggplant - so this was a welcomed change. Did not have time to place eggplant slices in colander - but next time I will give it a go. Give this a try - you won't be sorry. I'm sure the left-overs will be Great tomorrow. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
My wife loves Eggplant, and I made this recipe for her for our anniversary. Everyone, even my carnivore son who is convinced that vegetables are not food but what food eats LOVED it! My Son-in-law raved about it. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using a store bought marinara sauce( Newmans Own) simply because it's my families favorite sauce, and I tend to like the convenience of jar sauce over making my own. Regardless my family which has two younger children ( Ages 3 and 9) fell in love with this dish, and it's since become a part of the family recipe box. Thank you to the Author for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nubia Moon
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Came out delicious!! I initially baked the eggplant slices for 10 minutes per side instead of 5 & I didn't peel it. Still came out amazing!! I'm sticking to this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nubia Moon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very good just becareful not to overcook the cheese will crust it was still really yummy everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Good but the timing is wrong. This does not take 4 plus hours. Lol I didn't use the egg or prebake took me 45 mins start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I use this as the base for my recipe. I love how the eggplant is baked and not fried, it is still as delicious and crispy as if it were fried! I like to add ricotta sometimes and I make my own sauce but I love the s recipe alone for the prep of the eggplant and the layering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I made this for my dad's 88th birthday. I have my own recipe, but this one takes less effort. The secret is to use good sauce and bake it long enough. My Italian son said this was the best thing that happened to him all month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara DiFlorio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States