Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This recipe tastes great as is, though you can improvise with almost anything (NOT processed cheese, now a family legend: "Remember when Mimi blew up ham and cheese egg rolls and spent the first episode of Star Wars chiseling cheese out of the oven?") Using only a couple tablespoons filling makes them wrap better. Flip halfway in the baking, then let them cool completely before putting in the freezer. That seems to help the "soggy in the microwave" problem. They keep in the refrigerator a couple days and microwave great from there; we keep running into each other on midnight egg roll raids. They are so good even our picky toddler nephew wanted more. Fun family project for a Friday night, or an assembly line before DVD night with friends, not too expensive for take-our quality, and hearty enough to be a light meal. Lovely less sodium, lower fat, easily adjustable take on a favorite. Thanks for a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Used my own egg roll recipe, but was a great idea to bake them. They came out very crisp just have to make sure to turn them half way through. Good way to reduce some fat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe! The filling was tasty and I loved that the recipe called for baking them. They turned out really crispy in the toaster oven- just be sure to turn them occasionally to crisp all sides evenly. I also deep-fried a couple for my husband and he loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Great if you are looking for healthy! Inside needed a little extra zip, OH...rotation is important and DEFF. spray the cooking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI5US

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I TRIED THE BAKING TECHNIQUE MAINLY BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT FOOL WITH THE OIL MESS..I USED LEFTOVERS (WILD RICE,PEAS,COOKED CHICKEN,MUSHROOMS,CARROT,ETC.)FOR THE FILLING AND ALL I HAD TO DO WAS FILL AND BAKE USING A TOASTER OVEN,AND THEY TURNED OUT GREAT!I USUALLY ONLK COOK FOR MYSELF SO IF YOU HAVE MIXED YOUR FILLING,AND HAVE THE WRAPPERS IN THE FRIG.,YOU CAN OUICKLY MAKE AS FEW AS YOU WANT IN NO TIME!I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE TO TURN THEM AS THEY TURNED GOLDEN ALL OVER IN 15 MIN.LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caren Casstevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I reheated the eggrolls the next day in a 350 oven for 10 minutes. I sprayed the rolls with baking spray prior to baking the second time. They were much better the second time, probably due to the flavors blending, etc. I served them with sweet and sour sauce with a dabble of tabasco. I had enough mixings to use up all of the eggroll wrappers, approximately 16. Absolutely wonderful. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Casella Brinkley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I love this recipe, but because I'm cooking for one, it is a lot of leftovers. When re-cooking, I have found that it is good to either put a little olive oil or spray a pan and sautee them. If you just warm them in the microwave, they get soggy. Sauteeing them gives them a crisp outer layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I have to be honest, I was skepitcal about baking them but not anymore. These are good and healthier than frying them. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Fantastic! Crispy egg rolls without frying--sooo good. The filling is perfectly flavored. I didn't have bean sprout but add napa cabbage for crunchinest. It did need a little more of the sauce to make the filling thick enough and I added just a bit more soy sauce. My husband was impressed and ate quite a few, actually many of these. If you keep the filling and skins in the fridge, you could make them anytime. Be sure to turn them half way through cooking for even browning. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I improvised a little and these were delicious. I cooked the chicken right in the pan before adding the veggies, then added fresh mushrooms and frozen peas/carrot dices. The sauce was tasty and light, and they baked up nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States