Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This recipe tastes great as is, though you can improvise with almost anything (NOT processed cheese, now a family legend: "Remember when Mimi blew up ham and cheese egg rolls and spent the first episode of Star Wars chiseling cheese out of the oven?") Using only a couple tablespoons filling makes them wrap better. Flip halfway in the baking, then let them cool completely before putting in the freezer. That seems to help the "soggy in the microwave" problem. They keep in the refrigerator a couple days and microwave great from there; we keep running into each other on midnight egg roll raids. They are so good even our picky toddler nephew wanted more. Fun family project for a Friday night, or an assembly line before DVD night with friends, not too expensive for take-our quality, and hearty enough to be a light meal. Lovely less sodium, lower fat, easily adjustable take on a favorite. Thanks for a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I TRIED THE BAKING TECHNIQUE MAINLY BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT FOOL WITH THE OIL MESS..I USED LEFTOVERS (WILD RICE,PEAS,COOKED CHICKEN,MUSHROOMS,CARROT,ETC.)FOR THE FILLING AND ALL I HAD TO DO WAS FILL AND BAKE USING A TOASTER OVEN,AND THEY TURNED OUT GREAT!I USUALLY ONLK COOK FOR MYSELF SO IF YOU HAVE MIXED YOUR FILLING,AND HAVE THE WRAPPERS IN THE FRIG.,YOU CAN OUICKLY MAKE AS FEW AS YOU WANT IN NO TIME!I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE TO TURN THEM AS THEY TURNED GOLDEN ALL OVER IN 15 MIN.LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caren Casstevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
QUITE TASTY! love the lower-calorie version of these! i made with tofu instead of chicken-could use a little more garlic and maybe ginger and sesame oil for more flavor. will definately tweak for more flavor and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I thought these had a really good flavor. I think next time I would like to try them with ground pork instead however. For the veggies I substituted bagged coleslaw mix, just to make things easier. And for personal preference I fried them instead. My whole family really liked them. I served them with Sweet and Sour Sauce II from this site, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I substitute the cole slaw mix in the stores for the carrots. I am not a big carrot fan and think they would be a bit much. I also cook my vegetables longer. I like them to be soft not crunchy. My family absolutely loves these better than any restaurant. Will definitely continue to be on my dinner menu on Chinese evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very tasty. I added some ginger to give it a little extra pop. Also I rolled the wrappers a little thinner to make it crips but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I think I burnt mine or maybe there's a specific wrapper that is supposed to be bought??? Did not come out so good at all...I ended up toasting and eating w/ a whole lot of sweet sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I love this recipe, but because I'm cooking for one, it is a lot of leftovers. When re-cooking, I have found that it is good to either put a little olive oil or spray a pan and sautee them. If you just warm them in the microwave, they get soggy. Sauteeing them gives them a crisp outer layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were really good. I forgot to bake the chicken ahead of time so I just ommitted that. It only made 14 since I didn't use chicken. Everyone except my picky little sister loved them. I served them with sweet and sour chicken (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christlives92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These are wonderful! I didn't change a thing. The filling takes some time but is well worth it! I got 21 rolls. Took a few to work MY lunch and I ended up with ONE!! They were copying and handing out the recipe. A real keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States