Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I liked the baked egg rolls, and they were much healthier and easier to make; however, the taste was not as good as traditional fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I really wanted to like these. The idea of baking instead of frying I loved, but the taste was just not there. I'm guessing it was the ingredients, but I found them inedible. I couldn't tell if there were too many bean sprouts, or if the water chestnuts just didn't taste right being cooked that long. I left out the green peppers as I don't like them, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Just had an overall funny taste. Sadly, I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
dennis loves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Nobody liked this in the family. Followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a nice lite egg roll, I used shrimp in half and crab in the other half. I also froze some of them and I pull them out for snacks or a meal and heat in the oven or toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good. I used shredded cabbage instead of carrots as that's what I had on hand. I cooked them on top of a cooling rack on a pan and turned them half way through cooking. These can also be frozen for serving later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Served these for friends with drinks by the pool. Tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We loved these! We omitted the water chesnuts and the green peppers and added yellow onion. Also, we used salad shrimp instead of chicken. I was really skeptical of this recipe but I can't believe how good they turned out. I had to deviate from the cooking time, as mine took a lot longer, but they tasted so good they were well worth the wait. I think adding cabbage would make these great. A piece of advice would be not to put too much stuffing in the egg roll wrapper or it will burst at the seems. Served these with this site's "Chinese Chicken Soup" and we had a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I love the idea of these, but I (and my fiance) thought that the filling was missing something. I will make these again, but play around with the ingredients. They do taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very good! I love that they turned out nice and crispy just like you would expect of an eggroll, but they were baked. I baked mine about 12 minutes on one side and 6 minutes on the other (not realizing they would brown more on the bottom than the top). The only change from the recipe I made was to use sesame oil instead of vegetable oil in the filling, for more of an oriental flavor. My husband and 12 year old son both ate them, really liked them, and said they needed no changes. THANKS for this fun and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States