Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I tweaked with this a bit to make it them vegan and I subbed honey & maple syrup for the sugar. They tasted great. I just baked them a bit longer and voila!! Thanks for the healthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These are nothing like doughnuts, but we liked them just the same. We didn't even try to make them look like doughnuts. Just plopped them on a cookie sheet like cookies. We topped them with a mixture of powdered sugar and cinnamon. The next time we make them, I'd like to try using a mixture of whole wheat flour & white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Pretty good. Loved the spices and texture was okay, needed more moisture. That was my fault though, of course. Didn't have a doughnut pan so i just made muffins which were tasty. Overall, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These weren't very good. They're bland and light, but I guess if you're looking for something like that they would be okay. I would say they are coffee dunking doughnuts b/c that's all I would use them for. They don't have much flavor to eat by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
While these were good the name is deceptive. These should be called muffins not doughnuts. The batter was a muffin batter. The final result was a muffin. I tried several shapes: animal shapes using animal for cookie sheet (filled about 3/4 full these were just as thick on the top side as they were on the pan side [double the depth of the mold]), mini muffins (these baked up the same as any other muffin recipe), and rounds on a regular cookie pan (these spread out an ended up like big flat muffins). I think this would work well as a muffin snack cake (just poured into a greased pan and baked at about 375 degrees until the top springs back when touched. The first pan I put in got too dark on the pan side after about 10 min. at 400 d. I reduced the temp. to 375 d. for the rest of the batter. From the recipe as it was I got 12 animal shapes, 24 mini muffins, and 6-8 4.5 inch flat muffin rounds. My kids gobbled these up (they love muffins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmGirlShelley
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were great. They are so yummy. I just plopped them into 13x9 pans and baked them. They may not be like doughnuts but they are a wonderful treat, and really easy to make. Don't worry if you don't have buttermilk, I just added 1 TBSP of white vinegar to 1 CUP of milk and let it sit a while, mixed it well, and added one cup to the mixture to the wet ingredients. I also used syrup because I had no honey, and they came out perfect. I am serving mine with icing on them. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmGirlShelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These are sooo yummy! I don't have a donut pan so I improvised with a mini muffin pan and made "donut holes!" They aren't too sweet which makes them the perfect thing for children and adults! I'm on a calorie counting diet thing.... i used egg substitue and splenda and made my own buttermilk with a tablespoon of lemon juice and non-fat milk... they turned out delicious! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made these for our tailgate Oct. 1 to have in the parking lot line. The only thing I changed was to reduce baking time to 10 min. I used my own recipe for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Icing to top them while a little warm. They were so wonderful! A person we feel obligated to take to games insisted she'd bring store-bought donuts so no one would have to eat mine if they weren't any good. Not one person, including herself, even opened the store-bought box! I also didn't have the problem as others that they didn't last long. I made 4 dozen, some to take and some to keep. The ones I kept at home were still moist up to the day they were finished off 6 days after baking. (The icing may have made that difference though.) My husband has aked for these every couple of days now! The only thing to remember is that these are cake doughnuts and are going to be a little heavy. However, sifting the flour does help if they turn out too heavy. Thanks for posting-these are a new breakfast staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I made only 2 changes here. I used no nutmeg because I don't like it, and I substituted Splenda Brown Sugar (same amt as the sugar in the recipe) to make it more diabetic friendly. Wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States