Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Good except for::: Doesn't hold "doughnut" shape well AT ALL. I spooned out the batter (which I had to add 1 c. more flour into...) and it still spread over the span of the 3 mins it took me to spoon out all the batter - which was a lot, not a bad thing - and me putting into the oven. I subbed maple syrup vs honey as someone else suggested. Cut nutmeg in half , next time I won't use any, didn't have cloves either. Topped with a pinch of cinnamon & sugar along with cream cheese frosting. YUM!! I like this recipe especially because they're baked over fried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were awesome. They were more like muffin tops, but they were delicious! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Out of this world.... Added a butter cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Will keep trying other recipies. Just didn't find these as anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I think this is really more like a spice cake, but it tastes okay but it is a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Ok flavor. I love the texture but they were fairly bland. I will keep the recipe but will tweak it to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tried this recipe and the batter was way too runny to shape into anything. I baked only two on a baking sheet and they were flat, so I decided to put the rest of the batter in a glass square baking dish and bake as a single layer cake. The texture and taste is that of a spice cake. I'll try to make them again, only this time I'll use a muffin pan. Not what I expected because the batter doesn't allow you to shape them into a donut shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I'm so excited I can make homemade donuts for my boys! My plan was to add variously pie fillings to the batter but I decided to stick to the original recipe exactly the first time around and then experiment from there....they turned out perfect! Not too liquidy to shape like some reviewers said. After baking them I shook them up in a bag with sugar, powdered sugar, and cinnamon then drizzled half with honey and half with maple syrup. Letting them cool and I'll have these over the next week to serve for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were interesting--they seemed more like a spice quick-bread than a donut, but my four and seven-year-old loved them. I think the frosting helped. I used half wheat flour to ease my guilt of feeding donuts to the kids for breakfast! I don't have a donut pan and found after making the first batch as cake-like cookies on a cookie sheet that they actually baked nicely as muffins in a tin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wouldn't call these doughnuts by any means, granted I didn't have or use a doughnut pan, they still came out too heavy and dense to be a true doughnut. Still yummy and could be a nice addition to berries and whipped cream or frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States