Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These are very tasty. Only problem was that my doughnut pans cooked the bottoms faster than the tops - I flipped the doughnuts over after 5 minutes to get them evenly brown. We did think they were best the first day. None made it past the second day. We frosted some and sprinkled powdered sugar on the rest. Good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I really don't know why the complaints about them not tasting like 'donuts' and how they taste more like a muffin. I'm making the assumption that they were expecting a yeast donut taste. Well...these are CAKE donuts...you know...like the frosted sugar cake ones that you can buy. If you'll notice, there is NO YEAST! That being the case, I don't know why anyone would expect them to taste like a yeast donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheMrs711
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm not sure if I did it wrong cause my dough was cakey- and didn't form holes properly; but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made non-fried donuts before so tried this recipe. NOT a donut, not even remotely close. This is a spiced muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very good spice cookie, but not a doughnut. Ended up making into bar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
These were really good. Not at all like a fried doughnut, but still tasty! Wish I had a donut baking pan, because mine were odd shaped and pooled together. Once I had started this recipe, I realized I was missing an egg, so I used half of a banana (mashed) that was mixed with 1/2 a tsp of baking powder (thanks to AR's subs list). This enhanced the flavor of the doughnuts too! For a chocolate glaze, I used another reviewers advice and heated/mixed 1/4 cup milk, 1-2 tsp Vanilla, 3T of cocoa powder, & 2 cups confectionary sugar. Then, I drizzled over the doughnuts. The chocolatey sweetness of the glaze complimented the spiced doughnut well, since the doughnut is not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very mild flavor, but the texture was decent, i.e., not too heavy. Overall, nothing to rave about. Will have to find another recipe for our donut maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
good taste but I couldn't get them remotely doughnut shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My 12 yo DD and her book club friends made these today. They were a hit! Light, fluffy, and so yummy right out of the oven. I made the following changes: subbed lemon juice with plain rice milk for the buttermilk and Earth Balance for the butter. Also, they frosted them in a dark chocolate frosting. We will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Good except for::: Doesn't hold "doughnut" shape well AT ALL. I spooned out the batter (which I had to add 1 c. more flour into...) and it still spread over the span of the 3 mins it took me to spoon out all the batter - which was a lot, not a bad thing - and me putting into the oven. I subbed maple syrup vs honey as someone else suggested. Cut nutmeg in half , next time I won't use any, didn't have cloves either. Topped with a pinch of cinnamon & sugar along with cream cheese frosting. YUM!! I like this recipe especially because they're baked over fried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States