Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FarmGirlShelley
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were great. They are so yummy. I just plopped them into 13x9 pans and baked them. They may not be like doughnuts but they are a wonderful treat, and really easy to make. Don't worry if you don't have buttermilk, I just added 1 TBSP of white vinegar to 1 CUP of milk and let it sit a while, mixed it well, and added one cup to the mixture to the wet ingredients. I also used syrup because I had no honey, and they came out perfect. I am serving mine with icing on them. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmGirlShelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made these for our tailgate Oct. 1 to have in the parking lot line. The only thing I changed was to reduce baking time to 10 min. I used my own recipe for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Icing to top them while a little warm. They were so wonderful! A person we feel obligated to take to games insisted she'd bring store-bought donuts so no one would have to eat mine if they weren't any good. Not one person, including herself, even opened the store-bought box! I also didn't have the problem as others that they didn't last long. I made 4 dozen, some to take and some to keep. The ones I kept at home were still moist up to the day they were finished off 6 days after baking. (The icing may have made that difference though.) My husband has aked for these every couple of days now! The only thing to remember is that these are cake doughnuts and are going to be a little heavy. However, sifting the flour does help if they turn out too heavy. Thanks for posting-these are a new breakfast staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
The bestest everest baked doughnuts! I substituted Maple syrup for the honey which made them EVEN BETTER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I brought these to work yesterday and they're already gone and I got excellent comments. They're not over-sweet, the sweetness is just right. I can see why people had problems with the batter if not using a doughnut pan but I had one so it was no problem for me. I got almost 36 doughnuts but maybe my pan just had smaller wells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Phenominal! Away goes the so-so recipe that came with my doughnut pan. I get the cringes when I go to a well know shop where you can watch the doughnut floating along in an enormous tank of oil! This makes me feel a little better about such a sweet treat. I made a few modificatons as follows: Substitued maple syrup for honey, also I added a package of instant pistachio pudding in an attempt to make the one Dunkin Doughnuts used to make. It worked! And the pudding makes the batter a bit thicker. However they do rise a bit more so don't add quite as much batter to the pan. I am going to try chocolate pudding next, but the plain batter is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I made only 2 changes here. I used no nutmeg because I don't like it, and I substituted Splenda Brown Sugar (same amt as the sugar in the recipe) to make it more diabetic friendly. Wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I tweaked with this a bit to make it them vegan and I subbed honey & maple syrup for the sugar. They tasted great. I just baked them a bit longer and voila!! Thanks for the healthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe as some reviews I read said it would not make very many- that was not necessary!! It made 10 Dozen Donuts! I have 4 pans, so it was really easy to make so many. A suggestion- another thing people were saying the Donut Pans were hard to fill- and I agree- they were. If you have a Spritz Cookie maker- that is the perfect tool to fill your Donut Pans with no mess and the perfect amount of batter! In fact, if you don't have one- I would reccommend it, otherwise, the pans really are messy to fill. Fill them a little less than half! My first batch looked like muffins, they rise quite a bit! I topped the Donuts with a Chocolate Icing- 1/4 cup milk, 1-2 tsp Vanilla and 2 cups confectionary sugar. Heat the items together and keep warm and just drizzle over the donuts either in a circle on the top or a stripe pattern! If you add sprinkles- you have to do it right after you ice each donut before the icing hardens- that was a little bit of a pain in the neck- but if you have someone to help sprinkle them, that would make it easier!! The chocolate icing was very complementary to the Donuts! They were the hit of the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
a nice brekfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States