Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I was so disappointed. Tasteless, not a good texture, and nothing like a doughnut, muffin or cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were good, they tasted like a pumpkin spice doughnut. I wanted to make doughnuts but I didn't want to fry them. I don't have a doughnut pan so I used a cookie sheet and they spread out like and became these giant cake like cookie. Maybe with a doughnut pan they won't spread out as much. Next time I will omit the spices so it will be a plain cake doughnut with vanilla glaze. Also I scaled down to 4 servings and it still made 7 giant cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
When I first started making these doughnuts i had the thought in my mind that they were going to be rather flavorless, but i was wrong. I do admit that they seem more like muffins than doughnuts but they have a good mixture of spices. And at the time i didn't have buttermilk so i used 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and then added enough milk to make one cup. that substitute worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
As other reviewers said, these are muffins not doughnuts. I ended up using the batter in muffin tins and topped with a cinnamon streusel. 3 stars for the muffins, 0 for the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katetrav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Sorry, but I did not enjoy those at all. They had little flavor and are not better than store - bought doughnuts. I will not make those again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This recipe makes a better tasting spice muffin than doughnut. Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTRAYWICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Made two batches of these. First one according to the recipe and when I tasted it, I realized I didn't like nutmeg so I tried eliminating the taste by adding some chocolate chips into the second batch - got finished first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe as some reviews I read said it would not make very many- that was not necessary!! It made 10 Dozen Donuts! I have 4 pans, so it was really easy to make so many. A suggestion- another thing people were saying the Donut Pans were hard to fill- and I agree- they were. If you have a Spritz Cookie maker- that is the perfect tool to fill your Donut Pans with no mess and the perfect amount of batter! In fact, if you don't have one- I would reccommend it, otherwise, the pans really are messy to fill. Fill them a little less than half! My first batch looked like muffins, they rise quite a bit! I topped the Donuts with a Chocolate Icing- 1/4 cup milk, 1-2 tsp Vanilla and 2 cups confectionary sugar. Heat the items together and keep warm and just drizzle over the donuts either in a circle on the top or a stripe pattern! If you add sprinkles- you have to do it right after you ice each donut before the icing hardens- that was a little bit of a pain in the neck- but if you have someone to help sprinkle them, that would make it easier!! The chocolate icing was very complementary to the Donuts! They were the hit of the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These are definitely more like muffins, also called for way too much nutmeg. Wouldn't be too bad as a coffee side, but not too great other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These turned out very well for me. I used vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk, vegan butter (actually Smart Balance Light), and egg substitute. I also used a muffin tin because I don't have a donut pan. I halved the recipes and filled all 12 tins to make small muffin like donuts. The spices were great in the donuts. I also added a glaze made of vanilla, powdered sugar, and soymilk, which made them even more donut like. I brought them into work today and they were all gone within a couple of hours. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States