Baked Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These were great! They reminded me a spiced cake, almost a carrot cake like taste minus the carrots. I've made them several times, and the last time I topped it off with a cream cheese icing. I've brought them to several different events, and have been asked for the recipe each time. They were delicious! I also made them gluten free for my son and uncle and followed the recipe just substituting our favorite gluten free baking mix for the flour, and they turned out great too, which is no easy task when trying to transform something into GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These are not doughnuts! They are muffins, a nice, lite, tasty muffin but NOT a doughnut. I was pretty bummed out about this recipe because it was nothing like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Came out very good. Made 16 of them. No doughnut pan, thought, just a cookie sheet, so I knew they were going to come out a little flat and not doughnut like. They baked for 9-10 minutes. I did not use ground cloves - I put in 1 tsp. of allspice instead. Spice in the doughnut was perfect. Not too sugary. I recommend it. ESPESCIALLY if you actually have a doughnut pan to make these ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I gave it 3 stars because they are not doughnuts but they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I agree that these are more like muffins but they are still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
they tasted like spiced muffins...not donuts. i baked them for less time and a lower temp. (10 minutes versus 12 minutes at 375 degrees) then the recipe called for and they were still to dry. i coated some with cinnamon/sugar, some with powdered sugar and some with glaze. the cinnamon/sugar in my opinion were the best tasting..but still muffins not donuts none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I tried these in my new donut pan and took a couple of the suggestions -- maple syrup instead of honey and use a cookie press to put them in the pan. I also substituted yogurt for the butter to make them lower fat. I don't know what they taste like with butter but they were light and fluffy with the yogurt. I might add a little vanilla extract another time as the yogurt was plain. Yummy nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Good, but a little too much spice for my taste. Very thick and heavy like cake doughnuts. I think they could use just a little more moisture. This is an easy to work with, versatile recipe. Adding cocoa powder and/or chocolate chips is good, and making different glazes (chocolate, maple, maybe blueberry, strawberry, or cherry) makes it more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I just tried this Baked Doughnut recipe by Sal; it's better than the recipe that came with the doughnut pan! I used canola oil spray, and the product turned out the moment I tipped the pan. The doughnuts are plump and golden and firm. Yum! Spiced doughnuts for breakfast! bts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States