Baked Dijon Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
This recipe is delicious. To reply to TMCLARTY, who said, "I thought the taste of this was rather odd... it tasted way too tangy/mustardy. I didn't have any honey, so I used honey dijon mustard... but I probably wouldn't make it again. Sorry." All I can say is, please do NOT review recipes if you do not follow the recipe. This isn't fair. If you didn't use any honey and substituted more mustard in place of it, of course it tasted odd and way too mustardy. You didn't follow the recipe. Shame on you for leaving a bad review when you didn't use the correct ingredients called for in the recipe! Please, from now on, don't leave a review unless you followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2436 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
After reading all the rave reviews on this dish I decided to make it for my husband's birthday. Even though it looked amazing this is possibly the WORST recipe I have ever used for salmon. Don't bother wasting your ingredients. It is bland bland bland. I used an expensive salmon fillet which was more or less wasted and great pecans that could have been put to better use. Next time I will stick to my tried and tested recipe: a 1/4 cup white wine, some freshly squeezed lemon juice, salmon steaks or fillets, 1 tsp dried basil and 1 tsp dried oregano and freshly minced garlic, salt & pepper to taste. Cover and poach it for about 15 minutes top with a splash of extra virgin olive oil and it's the tastiest salmon you'll ever eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
902 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Both my husband and myself absolutely love this recipe. We have found that it works best if you skin the salmon and then coat all sides of it, it augments the flavor all around. Also, the honey-mustard-butter coating makes A LOT. You can generally halve it without too much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
765 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
PLEASE ignore the review below that called this the "worst" recipe. It isn't the least bit bland, but if you like more spice you can easily add a bit of cayenne or red pepper to taste. My family and I have been enjoying this recipe for years. I do use cornbread crumbs instead of breadcrumbs when I have them on hand -- just freeze a piece of cornbread if you have any left over, or use those new cornbread crackers I've seen in the grocery store. Serve with a sweet corn and black bean salad, fresh buttered green beans and chocolate pudding cake with vanilla ice cream and you have a stellar meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Wow, this is a heck of way to serve salmon. I made this this evening and it came out great. I didn't "brush each salmon fillet lightly" though. Instead I spread the honey butter dijon sauce on rather thickly by letting the butter sauce start to harden up a bit before brushing it on. For the bread crumb topping, I put the pecans in a zip lock baggy and pounded them with a rolling pin until they were sort of the consistency of rough ground coffee and I chopped the parsley pretty fine too. Then I used the topping generously but not excessively. Very flavorful. Very easy to make. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Two thumbs up! This is, hands-down, one of the best recipes I've got from this site. I can't believe that other reviewers aren't drooling over it as much as we are! I've cooked a lot of salmon and this is one great recipe. It was absolutely delicious and very simple to make. Instead of breadcrumbs I used crushed bruschetta, although any sort of crackers would work quite nicely. I used a 1/2 cup of butter since I love saucey sauces. I skipped the nuts since I didn't have any on hand - tastes just fine without them. Instead of fresh parsley I used 1 teaspoon dried. I loved having extra sauce and I served it at the table so people could help themselves. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
MWWAA for this one... It was great... the first time I made this I didn't have peacans so I used Almonds and that was very good, but I figured the second time I'd follow the directions completely so I made it with the Peacans and it was outstanding. I would say that this recipe is for people who like nuts and nice crunchyness to complement otherwise a delicate meal. This recipe also allows for room to play with the amount of spicyness by using more, less, or different strengths/types of mustard. I'm giving it an A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This was EXCELLENT!!!!!! I usually grill my salmon - year round (Firecracker Salmon - my fav), but was running short on time this eve. I didnt have any pecans, so I elimated them. I used Progresso Italian Bread Crumbs which I added some melted butter to, to make a nice crumbly mixture, as well as additional parsley. When it was done, I squeezed fresh lemon juice over the top. EVERYONE HERE LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!! Served it w/ a salad and some roasted baby carrots and it was GREAT! Will make this again!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I sure wish I knew why this is so highly rated. I thought it was average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I just wanted to comment on some of the negative reviews for this recipe... I have been making a variation of this recipe for years (just the honey & dijon by itself with a little salt & pepper baked - a little healthier without the crumbs and nuts for those watching carbs) and it the compliment of the honey/dijon with the salmon is outstanding! That said, I think the people that didn't like this recipe are looking for more of a salmon-y taste. This recipe balances out the extreme fishiness of salmon (a turn-off for many people, myself included) and, while extremely delicious for those of use that appreciate it, it can definitely be a disappointment if you are looking for a real salmon-y flavor. If that is what you are interested in, stick with the normal white wine & lemon recipe. If you love milder fish and dislike the real fishy taste of salmon, this is DEFINITELY the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States