Baked Denver Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Since this is a baked omelet, there is no need to dirty a skillet, too. While the oven is preheating, just put your butter, onion, bell pepper and ham in the dish you are going to bake it in and place that in the oven until "sauteed" and heated through to your liking while you are beating the eggs and milk and then stirring in the S&P and cheese. When the onion, bell pepper and ham are ready,stir them into the egg mixture then pour the whole thing back into the baking dish and bake. Less dishes to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Really good and really easy. I had a cooked potato left from dinner last night, so I peeled and cubed it, and added to the egg mixture. I used a 16-oz container of Egg Beaters instead of the eggs to save on fat and cholesterol. I just poured the egg substitute mixture into my new ceramic-lined skillet, popped it into the oven, and it cooked perfectly at 25 minutes. After baking, it slid right on to a plate with no sticking whatsoever (and I saved one dirty dish). Next time, this omelet will travel from Denver to Mexico because I plan to add some jalapeño and serve with salsa, sour cream, and some chopped cilantro. Wouldn't hesitate to serve this to company for brunch (or lunch as I did today).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I am 17 years old and i am a terrible cook, really. But this was so easy to make and it came out so good! thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very easy Sunday breakfast for my husband and me. I reduced the serving size to 3 and used a pie plate. I baked it for 20 min. I also tossed in a couple of baby bella mushrooms and sprinkled some reduced fat cheddar cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is definitely a 5-star recipe. I cannot believe the review where an individual changed the entire recipe & then gave it 3 stars saying it came out dry, but that next time they will be making even more changes and the recipe will then be a 5 star recipe. Rewritten recipes should be submitted as new recipes, and not used to criticize someone else's recipe. It had to be said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I've been making these for years, but I use my iron skillet! I saute the veggies in the skillet then add the beaten eggs and top with cheese. I sometimes add diced potato as well like a previous reviewer said, and sometimes mushrooms. Pop it in the oven until done, it only takes about 10-15 minutes since the pan is already hot and the bottom mostly cooked. I call it a frittata! Easy and delicious1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
First of all, I am sick and tired of people giving low ratings on a perfectly good recipe, just because they changed the ingredients and didn't follow the recipe as written! That says something for YOUR cooking, not the person who submitted the recipe. Change if you must but enter your changed recipe and then let people judge your entry. I found this recipe to be very good and reminded me of what my Mom used to make when I was a kid. I have made it EXACTLY as written and would not change a thing! Very easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Delicious! I am not a fan of green pepper or onion but I like the flavor in certain dishes and I was feeling adventurous so I fixed this. I scaled this down to 1 serving (2 eggs) and I minced my pepper and onion very tiny before cooking so I wouldn't encounter large icky pieces of it while eating. I used smoked dinner ham and I do think using a good quality and flavor of ham makes a difference in this dish. I was really not expecting to like this but trying to expand my food boundaries, and hesitantly took a bite. Oh. My. Goodness. My mouth is in heaven. I devoured this whole thing and it was fabulous to the last bite. This turned out moist and not at all dry like I thought. I didn't have the proper size baking dish so I lined a pie plate with aluminum foil and bent it up to make a small foil "boat" in the size I needed. I still can't believe how delicious this dish was!!! Thanks for sharing and I am soo glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Grandma used to make this about 60 years ago and I followed in her footsteps. I make it in a deep cast iron fry pan cooking shredded potatoes until nice and crisp, then adding eggs etc. and put in oven. After it sets, I top with more cheese, red & yellow thin sliced bell peppers and let finish. Oma used to call it a FARMERS BREAKFAST and so do I. Fresh spinach and other fresh veggies mixed into the mixture is fantastic, let your tastebuds guide you! Be aware though that mixture will at least double in size, so make sure you have a VERY DEEP fry pan or fry potatoes first, layer them on bottom of deep baking dish and add rest of stuff, works as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I MADE THIS TODAY IT IS VERY GOOD EXCEPT I USED CRISPY BACON INSTEAD OF HAM,AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States