Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ritajennings
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this five stars because it is the best combination of ingredients I have tried for Delicata squash. This is NOT the kind of vegetable that tastes good mashed up with vanilla, cream and cinnamon like pumpkin or sweet potato - (believe me, I tried cooking many ways this morning)The lime and spice bring out the flavor the best. You can add a dash of cayenne if you like. Had to upload my picture after cooking - Thanks! P.S. The SEEDS are great too. I rinsed and dried them, then baked at 275 for about 30 min. Next, heat up a tsp or less of olive oil in a pan and add lime juice, salt, chili and cayenne pepper to taste. Mix in your seeds and cook for a minute or less. Spread on paper towel and allow to dry before storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was very good! I cooked it in the crock pot on low for 1-1/2 hours, but didn't change anything else. Hubby works from home and can turn the crock pot on when needed, so I use the crock whenever I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was delicious! Great side veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Totally agree with first reviewer, this was amazing! I wanted to drive into town (25 miles) to buy more sqaush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I loved this! It was easy and was such a nice change from the typical recipes for baking squash (which are invaribly sweet). It made a wonderful and interesting side dish for a Mexican dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
OH MAN!!! This is SO good and so easy to make! The combination of the lime and chili in the lime butter is fantastic! I had to cook my squash for longer than 30 minutes but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I LOVED IT! Thank you for sharing this recipe. My boyfriend who HATES squash so far in my cooking.. ATE HIS ENTIRE SQUASH. I was so thrilled.. he's like a finicky little kid about eating his vegis. Thanks again so much for sharing this one. I will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Disappointment. The mixture had no flavor. The lime and chili while originally interesting, was a waste of time and money. Squash was bland and fibrous. The butter had no flavor and got lost in the blandness. Will not do this recipe again. Deleting it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I always grow delicata in the garden so we have fresh picked and delicious squash every year! This recipe just makes it better. My 10 year old even enjoyed this. A keeper of a recipe which I will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I am not a squash lover, but that's what we're getting from our CSA now so I was looking for some different things to do with it. This was delicious! Definitely make extra lime butter. One note, as a few others have mentioned, my squash took more like 45-50 minutes to bake and, even then, one of them could have used a little more time, so allow more than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States