Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Interesting tasting winter squash. Had never tried the "Delicata" before. The lime-chili-butter gave it a very fresh presentation, and pleasant finish in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wow! This is my new favorite squash recipe! good bye brown sugar...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritajennings
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this five stars because it is the best combination of ingredients I have tried for Delicata squash. This is NOT the kind of vegetable that tastes good mashed up with vanilla, cream and cinnamon like pumpkin or sweet potato - (believe me, I tried cooking many ways this morning)The lime and spice bring out the flavor the best. You can add a dash of cayenne if you like. Had to upload my picture after cooking - Thanks! P.S. The SEEDS are great too. I rinsed and dried them, then baked at 275 for about 30 min. Next, heat up a tsp or less of olive oil in a pan and add lime juice, salt, chili and cayenne pepper to taste. Mix in your seeds and cook for a minute or less. Spread on paper towel and allow to dry before storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I am not a squash lover, but that's what we're getting from our CSA now so I was looking for some different things to do with it. This was delicious! Definitely make extra lime butter. One note, as a few others have mentioned, my squash took more like 45-50 minutes to bake and, even then, one of them could have used a little more time, so allow more than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Hard to beat the combination of simplicity and flavor in this recipe. I used 50% more squash, 100% more lime juice and got pretty good results. I also used Jamaican jerk-seasoning rather than chili powder. You can take this in a dozen directions and not screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was ok. The lime did really compliment the sweetness of the squash. I added extra salt to enhance the flavors, more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We liked the lime butter (I actually used lemon juice and lime zest) but 30 min wasn't long enough for the squash. It was a bit annoying trying to scoop the buttery squash out at the table, so next time we try this I will scoop and mash it ahead of time and mix the butter into that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We loved this tangier twist on squash and that it was a real side dish, not a main dish for vegetarians or too hearty. Needed to use yet another delicata from our CSA bag and this disappeared in record time. I baked it for 15 minutes then realized I needed to use the broiler so I finished by microwaving it about 7 minutes more. I think I'd skip the baking and just zap it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Way better than I thought it would be--made just like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Really interesting flavors. Make sure you enough of the lime butter to the squash, otherwise it won't taste as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States