Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I liked this, but didn't love the flavors. My hubby did not care for it. He said the squash and lime flavors don't go together at all. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I was pretty disappointed with this based on the stellar reviews it was getting. I veganized this by substituting margarine for butter which might have thrown things off a bit. I had to really mash it up with the squash to get it to taste decent. Surprisingly enough, adding some brown sugar to the mix greatly improved things; I'd recommend doing this if you try it and find it not to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
wow- really didn't think this would be that great- but it was a perfect flavor to compliment the squash. i cook the squash in the microwave 'cause it goes faster (pierce a few times with knife & cover with plastic wrap.) then after it has cooked & cooled a bit i cut in half and removed seeds. also, used lemon juice instead of lime 'cause that's what i have around & it still was perfect (in my opinion). can't wait to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NoviceCook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This dish was UNBELIEVALBLE!! Like others I was skeptical about the chili lime butter, but my goodness, it totally makes the dish! I only cooked one squash but but follwed the rest of the directions to a T. I plan to spread some of the leftover butter on fresh baked cornbread or some other dish. YUMMY! Do yourself a favor....try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe... once I tried the Delicata as indicated, I found that almost every Indian spice I put with it was good as well! This the most versatile squash I have ever had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Interesting tasting winter squash. Had never tried the "Delicata" before. The lime-chili-butter gave it a very fresh presentation, and pleasant finish in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wow! This is my new favorite squash recipe! good bye brown sugar...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritajennings
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this five stars because it is the best combination of ingredients I have tried for Delicata squash. This is NOT the kind of vegetable that tastes good mashed up with vanilla, cream and cinnamon like pumpkin or sweet potato - (believe me, I tried cooking many ways this morning)The lime and spice bring out the flavor the best. You can add a dash of cayenne if you like. Had to upload my picture after cooking - Thanks! P.S. The SEEDS are great too. I rinsed and dried them, then baked at 275 for about 30 min. Next, heat up a tsp or less of olive oil in a pan and add lime juice, salt, chili and cayenne pepper to taste. Mix in your seeds and cook for a minute or less. Spread on paper towel and allow to dry before storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I am not a squash lover, but that's what we're getting from our CSA now so I was looking for some different things to do with it. This was delicious! Definitely make extra lime butter. One note, as a few others have mentioned, my squash took more like 45-50 minutes to bake and, even then, one of them could have used a little more time, so allow more than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Hard to beat the combination of simplicity and flavor in this recipe. I used 50% more squash, 100% more lime juice and got pretty good results. I also used Jamaican jerk-seasoning rather than chili powder. You can take this in a dozen directions and not screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States