Baked Cream of Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2002
WOW my husband and I couldn't get enough of this. It was so easy and came out yummy. This will be a staple in our house. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe is a must keep for coconut lovers and best of all is easy to make. It is creamy and sweet with the right hint of rum. The only comment I have is that the recipe calls for 'can shredded coconut'. I could not find that in any store around my house, so I used the shredded coconut that comes in a bag and that worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Everyone who liked coconut, liked this recipe. Those who did not like coconut hated this recipe. The only thing I will change next time, is I will add less flaked coconut. I thought it took away from the texture. **For all those having a difficult time finding Cream of Coconut, look in the liquor isle with the Pina Colada mixes. That is where I found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was so easy to make and is great for coconut lovers. I did use the flaked coconut also because I couldn't find any in a can, and it turned out great. Seems like it would be really good in some kind of a pastry shell. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkletoes
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Outstanding! Don’t underestimate the plain look of this most delicious dessert with a crisp top layer and a flan-like inside. It was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have to give this 5 stars because I made it for my husband who is a coconut lover and he was in heaven! I like cocount, not as much as him, so I did enjoy this dessert, but it is definitely enjoyed best by coconut lovers. I think it would also be really good baked with a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Simple & Delicious - my 2 favorite things in any recipe! This is very sweet and very much like flan. Keep in fridge and serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
WOW is right! This may well be my first review and I've used a lot of recipes from allrecipes. This is fantastic! And forgiving. I adjusted.... did not add rum; used dried unsweetened and sweetened coconut instead of the canned coconut; used skim evaporated milk. Was doing some cupboard cleaning. Didn't even use an electric mixer, just a whisk. So easy. Fantastic recipe! Top with whipped cream and I think fresh berries would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgecomb, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wow. What a great dessert. This is fantastic for serving to dinner guests. It is a nice quality dish without being expensive or difficult to make. Especially wonderful because it can be made a day or two in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a wonderful dessert. I actually made it twice and I must say that the ingredients you go with make all the difference. The first time I made this recipe it was not too good, but I think that is because I went with a coconut butter instead of the grated coconut in syrup (I couldn't find that anywhere). The result: the dessert was too rich and tasted too oily. The second time I really searched for ingredients that more closely matched what the recipe actually calls for. In the end, I found some really good cream of coconut and unsweetened shredded coconut at Whole Foods. Like others, I omitted the rum. The end result of my 2nd attempt was a delicious, sublime flan-like dessert. What I liked was that the dessert wasn't too sweet and the coconut in the dessert body was shredded and not flaked. That gave it very nice consistency. I topped it off with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States