Baked Cream of Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe is a must keep for coconut lovers and best of all is easy to make. It is creamy and sweet with the right hint of rum. The only comment I have is that the recipe calls for 'can shredded coconut'. I could not find that in any store around my house, so I used the shredded coconut that comes in a bag and that worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Everyone who liked coconut, liked this recipe. Those who did not like coconut hated this recipe. The only thing I will change next time, is I will add less flaked coconut. I thought it took away from the texture. **For all those having a difficult time finding Cream of Coconut, look in the liquor isle with the Pina Colada mixes. That is where I found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLEHNIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a very interesting recipe. It seems to be a combination coconut cream pie/custard/flan. Because I prefer a creamy custard I substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 whipping cream, 1/2 vanilla soy milk. I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut and bagged coconut flakes because they don't sell canned coconut flakes in syrup here. I put the glass pan on a towl in a deep cookie sheet which I placed in the oven and filled with water for even heating. After an hour, the custard was pale and beautifully cooked, so I sprinkled some white sugar (1/4 cup) on the top and broiled it on high until the top was golden and crunchy. Then I cooled it and refrigerated it for 2 hours. Lovely creamy custard with a sweet crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I really enjoy coconut so I gave this a try. I had to use coconut milk in place of the cream of coconut and added a 7 oz package of flaked coconut since I've never seen coconut in syrup. This would have been good with or without the flaked coconut. Similar to flan, but not as firm. Still, this was not too heavy and made a nice after dinner dessert. Thanks for sharing Tanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I love coconut but hated this. I could barely taste coconut over the rum. I gave it 2 stars because my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wow. What a great dessert. This is fantastic for serving to dinner guests. It is a nice quality dish without being expensive or difficult to make. Especially wonderful because it can be made a day or two in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Rum minimizes all other flavors too much. This recipe is much much better without the additon of the rum. I remember my mother making his for us as children, give it a try but w/o rum your results will be sweeter and the coconut flavor will be present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This is definitely a dessert for the coconut lover. Too much for others. So, if you like coconut style bars... go for it! If you want more of a pie, pass this receipe for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Simple & Delicious - my 2 favorite things in any recipe! This is very sweet and very much like flan. Keep in fridge and serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkletoes
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Outstanding! Don’t underestimate the plain look of this most delicious dessert with a crisp top layer and a flan-like inside. It was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States