Baked Cream of Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a wonderful dessert. I actually made it twice and I must say that the ingredients you go with make all the difference. The first time I made this recipe it was not too good, but I think that is because I went with a coconut butter instead of the grated coconut in syrup (I couldn't find that anywhere). The result: the dessert was too rich and tasted too oily. The second time I really searched for ingredients that more closely matched what the recipe actually calls for. In the end, I found some really good cream of coconut and unsweetened shredded coconut at Whole Foods. Like others, I omitted the rum. The end result of my 2nd attempt was a delicious, sublime flan-like dessert. What I liked was that the dessert wasn't too sweet and the coconut in the dessert body was shredded and not flaked. That gave it very nice consistency. I topped it off with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
WOW is right! This may well be my first review and I've used a lot of recipes from allrecipes. This is fantastic! And forgiving. I adjusted.... did not add rum; used dried unsweetened and sweetened coconut instead of the canned coconut; used skim evaporated milk. Was doing some cupboard cleaning. Didn't even use an electric mixer, just a whisk. So easy. Fantastic recipe! Top with whipped cream and I think fresh berries would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgecomb, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Rum minimizes all other flavors too much. This recipe is much much better without the additon of the rum. I remember my mother making his for us as children, give it a try but w/o rum your results will be sweeter and the coconut flavor will be present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I love coconut but hated this. I could barely taste coconut over the rum. I gave it 2 stars because my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Simple & Delicious - my 2 favorite things in any recipe! This is very sweet and very much like flan. Keep in fridge and serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a very interesting recipe. It seems to be a combination coconut cream pie/custard/flan. Because I prefer a creamy custard I substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 whipping cream, 1/2 vanilla soy milk. I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut and bagged coconut flakes because they don't sell canned coconut flakes in syrup here. I put the glass pan on a towl in a deep cookie sheet which I placed in the oven and filled with water for even heating. After an hour, the custard was pale and beautifully cooked, so I sprinkled some white sugar (1/4 cup) on the top and broiled it on high until the top was golden and crunchy. Then I cooled it and refrigerated it for 2 hours. Lovely creamy custard with a sweet crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Not good at all, I have good luck with all the recipes I have tried, so I know it was not something I did wrong, plus Im Puerto Rican so I know alot about flan. This was not even close. It tasted too much like rum, too much coconut and the texture was not creamy or custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLeon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have to give this 5 stars because I made it for my husband who is a coconut lover and he was in heaven! I like cocount, not as much as him, so I did enjoy this dessert, but it is definitely enjoyed best by coconut lovers. I think it would also be really good baked with a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkletoes
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Outstanding! Don’t underestimate the plain look of this most delicious dessert with a crisp top layer and a flan-like inside. It was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe truly appealed to my latin family. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States