Baked Cream of Coconut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a wonderful dessert. I actually made it twice and I must say that the ingredients you go with make all the difference. The first time I made this recipe it was not too good, but I think that is because I went with a coconut butter instead of the grated coconut in syrup (I couldn't find that anywhere). The result: the dessert was too rich and tasted too oily. The second time I really searched for ingredients that more closely matched what the recipe actually calls for. In the end, I found some really good cream of coconut and unsweetened shredded coconut at Whole Foods. Like others, I omitted the rum. The end result of my 2nd attempt was a delicious, sublime flan-like dessert. What I liked was that the dessert wasn't too sweet and the coconut in the dessert body was shredded and not flaked. That gave it very nice consistency. I topped it off with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
WOW is right! This may well be my first review and I've used a lot of recipes from allrecipes. This is fantastic! And forgiving. I adjusted.... did not add rum; used dried unsweetened and sweetened coconut instead of the canned coconut; used skim evaporated milk. Was doing some cupboard cleaning. Didn't even use an electric mixer, just a whisk. So easy. Fantastic recipe! Top with whipped cream and I think fresh berries would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgecomb, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Rum minimizes all other flavors too much. This recipe is much much better without the additon of the rum. I remember my mother making his for us as children, give it a try but w/o rum your results will be sweeter and the coconut flavor will be present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I love coconut but hated this. I could barely taste coconut over the rum. I gave it 2 stars because my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Simple & Delicious - my 2 favorite things in any recipe! This is very sweet and very much like flan. Keep in fridge and serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a very interesting recipe. It seems to be a combination coconut cream pie/custard/flan. Because I prefer a creamy custard I substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 whipping cream, 1/2 vanilla soy milk. I used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut and bagged coconut flakes because they don't sell canned coconut flakes in syrup here. I put the glass pan on a towl in a deep cookie sheet which I placed in the oven and filled with water for even heating. After an hour, the custard was pale and beautifully cooked, so I sprinkled some white sugar (1/4 cup) on the top and broiled it on high until the top was golden and crunchy. Then I cooled it and refrigerated it for 2 hours. Lovely creamy custard with a sweet crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Not good at all, I have good luck with all the recipes I have tried, so I know it was not something I did wrong, plus Im Puerto Rican so I know alot about flan. This was not even close. It tasted too much like rum, too much coconut and the texture was not creamy or custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLeon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have to give this 5 stars because I made it for my husband who is a coconut lover and he was in heaven! I like cocount, not as much as him, so I did enjoy this dessert, but it is definitely enjoyed best by coconut lovers. I think it would also be really good baked with a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkletoes
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Outstanding! Don’t underestimate the plain look of this most delicious dessert with a crisp top layer and a flan-like inside. It was very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe truly appealed to my latin family. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States