Baked Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Kind of bland, we followed the recipe to the "T", we added more cayenne but recipe missing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
A big hit at our Christmas Eve get-together...that is a "seven fishes" night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a nice looking dish. It was good, but a bit bland so I added garlic powder, old bay, and a bit more cayenne pepper. Thank you for the clear instructions and recipe Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved all the flavors that go in to this dish. I used some crabmeat that I got from Costco, and we all thought it was quite fishy tasting, so that kind of ruined what I know would be a perfect dish! That didn't really stop us from eating it, however. I love using the artichoke bottoms rather than the quarters that most recipes call for. Thanks again, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I am not sure why people haven't rated this recipe? It was last year's Superbowl treat and we loved it. This year I have crab I caught out by the Farallon Islands just outside San Francisco bay, compared to last years store bought container crab this years should be delicious!!! MMMmmm I can't wait to have this again even if my beloved Forty Niners didn't make the superbowl. Go Manning and Denver. No way I can root for Seattle sea peasants :) Thanks for the recipe Chef John you are "the" man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We made it with some left over king crab (I know, right!?). I loved the way all the flavors blended, added about 2T of hot jalapeno juice to add just the right amount of kick. It is just a bit bland, but hey you can always add spice, much more difficult to take it out. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe was sooo good. I purchased some live crabs from The Wharf as we Washingtonians call it, had them steamed and pulled the crab meat from them. I used garlic powder as that was all I had, I added one cup of grated Parmesan cheese and instead of just plain white cheddar I used Kraft four cheese , Mexican. THANKS A MILLION CHEF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The bread bowl sounds wonderful but I threw everything into a crock pot the night before. I put it on 3 hours before my guests arrived the next morning - stirred it up once it was hot. I threw down some crackers and while my family was chowing down someone suggested tortilla chips so I put those out as well! It was a big hit and super easy to do the night before so that I could focus on other aspects of my cook out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve party I attended. I followed this recipe exactly and found the recipe perfect. By midnight there was none left except the bread bowel which was going to be enjoyed the next day. I wish I could have found a gluten-free bread to make this in so I could have enjoyed the best part!!!Only thing I couldn't do was discard the top and inside of the bread...great for dipping/spreading...even if I couldn't. I was tempted to add more garlic, tarragon, or green onions...glad I didn't. Perfect blend!! Thanks you, Chef John, this recipe was perfect and appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe was a perfect foundation! Super easy to put together and tastes delish. I know some people had mentioned that it was a little bland. So, to overcome that, I added a little more garlic (3 cloves), and some spices (oregano and basil). I added 1/4 cup of parmsean cheese, only used 1 package of cream cheese, and added 1/2 cup of sautéed spinach. Also, I'm sure it would taste better with real lump crab meat, but I used imitation crab meat which was $3 instead of $15, it still tasted wonderful and gave it great crab flavor and texture. This dip was gone in 30 min, and even my pickiest guests thought it was amazing!! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States