Baked Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Kind of bland, we followed the recipe to the "T", we added more cayenne but recipe missing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
A big hit at our Christmas Eve get-together...that is a "seven fishes" night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a nice looking dish. It was good, but a bit bland so I added garlic powder, old bay, and a bit more cayenne pepper. Thank you for the clear instructions and recipe Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved all the flavors that go in to this dish. I used some crabmeat that I got from Costco, and we all thought it was quite fishy tasting, so that kind of ruined what I know would be a perfect dish! That didn't really stop us from eating it, however. I love using the artichoke bottoms rather than the quarters that most recipes call for. Thanks again, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I am not sure why people haven't rated this recipe? It was last year's Superbowl treat and we loved it. This year I have crab I caught out by the Farallon Islands just outside San Francisco bay, compared to last years store bought container crab this years should be delicious!!! MMMmmm I can't wait to have this again even if my beloved Forty Niners didn't make the superbowl. Go Manning and Denver. No way I can root for Seattle sea peasants :) Thanks for the recipe Chef John you are "the" man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We made it with some left over king crab (I know, right!?). I loved the way all the flavors blended, added about 2T of hot jalapeno juice to add just the right amount of kick. It is just a bit bland, but hey you can always add spice, much more difficult to take it out. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe was sooo good. I purchased some live crabs from The Wharf as we Washingtonians call it, had them steamed and pulled the crab meat from them. I used garlic powder as that was all I had, I added one cup of grated Parmesan cheese and instead of just plain white cheddar I used Kraft four cheese , Mexican. THANKS A MILLION CHEF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The bread bowl sounds wonderful but I threw everything into a crock pot the night before. I put it on 3 hours before my guests arrived the next morning - stirred it up once it was hot. I threw down some crackers and while my family was chowing down someone suggested tortilla chips so I put those out as well! It was a big hit and super easy to do the night before so that I could focus on other aspects of my cook out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for a New Years Eve party I attended. I followed this recipe exactly and found the recipe perfect. By midnight there was none left except the bread bowel which was going to be enjoyed the next day. I wish I could have found a gluten-free bread to make this in so I could have enjoyed the best part!!!Only thing I couldn't do was discard the top and inside of the bread...great for dipping/spreading...even if I couldn't. I was tempted to add more garlic, tarragon, or green onions...glad I didn't. Perfect blend!! Thanks you, Chef John, this recipe was perfect and appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe was a perfect foundation! Super easy to put together and tastes delish. I know some people had mentioned that it was a little bland. So, to overcome that, I added a little more garlic (3 cloves), and some spices (oregano and basil). I added 1/4 cup of parmsean cheese, only used 1 package of cream cheese, and added 1/2 cup of sautéed spinach. Also, I'm sure it would taste better with real lump crab meat, but I used imitation crab meat which was $3 instead of $15, it still tasted wonderful and gave it great crab flavor and texture. This dip was gone in 30 min, and even my pickiest guests thought it was amazing!! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States