Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Only gave it 4 stars because the hens were very good and moist, but the stuffing, to us, was over-seasoned. Will definitely make again, but will cut back on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
awesome and easy recipe, i added a little water to the deep roasting pan and used red peppers instead of green, defiantly will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It was pretty good! My husband LOVEDDDDDDDDDD it. I had never cooked any cornish hens before so, this was a total experiment. I love to cook and I love customizing these recipes. I HATED the prep, I will say, so many prep dishes for me to wash, lol. I mixed onions, green pepper, garlic, white salt, black pepper, garlic powder and crushed red pepper in the food processor for the seasoning. I then soaked the meat in that. I stuffed the hens w/ carrots and celery w/ the butter from the original recipe. I mixed then put them in the pan, w/ the seasoning I made and sprayed some butter on top. I baked covered for the 1st hr and uncovered for the final 30 minutes. I then left it in the oven. I wasn't too sure what to cook w/ it so I made stuffing and corn... it worked out but im sure i should have cooked a green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was my first time cooking with cornish hens and they were fantastic. Moist, and flavorful. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was AWESOME! ONce a month we meet with friends to learn about wine and food pairings. They buy the wine, we make the food. I googled the type of wine and asked for food pairings - cornish game hens was one choice! Allrecipes NEVER lets me down! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by islandgrl212
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I've tried this twice, and my famiy can't get enough. I am a beginner "chef", but I found this recipe to be easy to follow, and the results have been excellent both times. Even my mother-in-law loves my cornish hens, so you know they're good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Just tried this last night. I'm on a low carb diet, so this was perfect. Used lots of fresh mushrooms instead of canned and only 1/4 cup butter in the stuffing, no butter on the bird. Used olive oil on the bird. Would like to experiment with some stronger spices, but overall fantastic-even my picky teen daughter loved it. Had extra stuffing in the pan which was gobbled up immediately. Oh, and I used larger game hens than normal, so my cooking time was a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These turned out awesome. Super moist. Great flavor. Thank you. Hubby was impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Def. a keeper! I used the recipe for just one cornish hen and it was absolutely delicious! My DH and toddler loved it to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States