Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow! Nice recipe but way too much butter! The veggies already make it moist inside, so you can cook uncovered on 425 for about 1 hour, basting with a small amount of butter every 10 minutes after the first 30 minutes of cooking time. If you mix rice in with the veggies, you have the entire meal ready in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great way to cook hens. Very moist and makes the house smell great! Will use in future and, will share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe is excellent, especially when you vary the ingredients of the stuffing. We will have this dinner again .. very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry Stephenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious! I made these this afternoon. An hour and a half was the perfect cooking time. I did mess around with some of the ingredients to use what I had on hand (I needed to clean out the fridge). I substituted carrots for the bell pepper, Trader Joe's pesto sauce for some of the butter, and I rubbed some more pesto under the skin. I also sweated the vegetables in some oil before stuffing to soften the carrots a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This jam-packed little bird was delicious. I threw in some extra veggies, and also used a small box of quick-cooking wild rice to liven up the flavor. This works quite well, as there is no necessity to make any side dishes with this meal-it's all inclusive! I would definitely make this again, but perhaps, next time I would very slightly cook the rice before creating stuffing the bird with it. It seemed to take longer to cook than the bird did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onethoughtfulletter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe, my husband loved it! I left out the mushrooms and added some additional spices to the stuffing mixture. At the end of cooking time, I broiled the hen to crisp the skin (instead of baking at 500). Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I liked this a lot; I used another reviewer's suggestion and basted it throughout the roasting period, but didn't have any wine...I used beer and too little oil because I was running short and it could have been better, but still was very fine and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful. Great taste and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States