Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I love this recipe, the only two things I changed was to use yellow peppers instead of green because I like the sweeter taste and not use the parsley. Other than that this recipe was a life saver. My family loved it! I also made dressing as a side dish since it's the holidays. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
It was easy to make.Tasted great.I also basted the birds with the pan juice while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bparalston
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
i seasoned mine with tyme and rosemary stuffed them with cranberry stuffing and then put purple pink and yellow fingerling potatoes onions mushrooms celery garlic mixed them with some olive oil salt and pepper and cooked them in the side of a pan (i cooked 4 hens at once in a turkey roasting pan and had extra room for veggies on the side) with a nice mixed greens salad and some fresh fruit this was a GREAT dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bparalston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I sauteed the onion, celery, green pepper and mushrooms in half the amount of butter called for. The amount of stuffing was perfect for the cornish hens. We found the basil taste came out too strong in the stuffing so would cut that back. They cooked in the amount of time called for and were a beautiful golden brown. Meat was moist and flavorful. I also found the 1/4 cup melted butter drizzled over the birds was a bit much so next time will just do half of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very popular with our dinner guests. So moist and tasty. Recipe doesn't say how long to brown the hens at 500. We tried 10 minutes but they still weren't quite brown. So we switched to broiler for a couple minutes more. Otherwise, I followed recipe exactly. Next time I might try some corn bread stuffing including ingredients in recipe. We will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is delicious. It was my first time cooking any kind of whole bird, and I was a little nervous. But the Cornish game hens turned out beautifully, and made a fantastic main course for our Thanksgiving for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent! Although I did soak my hens in a brine over night and stuffed them with dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
not so great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
moist, but bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SirEatALot
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was delicious. I tweeked a few things by replacing the green pepper with red for color used another reviewers suggestion of sauteing the vegis, then I put them in the food processer. Season the mix well with salt and pepper. My guests appreciated that I gave them small bowls to put the bones and gristle in while they ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States