Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My only change is more garlic and jalapeños . Sorry like the heat and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I rate this recipe at least 4 stars. Made this dish today for Sunday's dinner. The hens were well flavored, succulent and tasty! Tweaked the recipe somewhat, included fresh carrots & fresh mushrooms estimated about equal amounts of all veggies. Only did between 1/4-1/3 amount of butter total, which was used for both hens and vegetables. Sprinkled paprika, pepper & a lil parsley with basil on meat. Cooked at 350 covered for one hour and about 45 minutes uncovered (the last 15 min or so turned temp down to 325) meat turned out perfectly browned & juicy, veggies moist with a lil crunch. Served with oven brown rice and lima beans on the side. Almost forgot to mention, used natural minced garlic in the jar and the butter was unsalted. Stuck a few celery & carrot sticks underneath the wings & legs of the birds for extra flavor basting periodically. Absolutely delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this and even messed up (forgot to cover it) and it still came out good! Moist and tasty. I will make this again. Also, one hen fed 2 adults, 4 kids, and a toddler. All I added was potatoes on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Oxley-Kissinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I've made this twice n loved it..the only thing I did different was drizzle with olive oil, seasoned with creole seasoning and baked uncovered.I forgot to add butter to the veggies but they were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Great recipe that is full of flavor. Like many others here this was my first time stuffing poultry, but the directions were perfect. Not only does it taste great, it also looks great. And the smell is heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was my first time cooking cornish hens and I am so happy that I decided to use this recipe. It was succulent and full of wonderful herbs and hearty vegetables. I was happy and sated after enjoying this splendid meal with my partner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
great recipe but you def dont need all that butter. Each time I make it I use less butter and it comes out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
pretty good, didnt use mushrooms but add some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Our Christmas supper was lovely The chicken, though, was a bit bland... I think we could spice things up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjmyoung

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I love this recipe, the only two things I changed was to use yellow peppers instead of green because I like the sweeter taste and not use the parsley. Other than that this recipe was a life saver. My family loved it! I also made dressing as a side dish since it's the holidays. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States