Baked Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
To add the corn water or not to. That is the question. I have the answer to that question! I spent a lot of time searching the web and all data points to you ADD the water from the can of corn. ADD THE WATER! lol I have made this recipe numerous times and it is best as written WITH the corn water. If you don't want to add it I've done things like up the sour cream, add an extra egg, more corn bread mix. When you do that it turns out just like corn bread. The recipe as written I serve with a spoon. It's bread-like, but not like regular corn bread. Now for the taste. Phenomenal. Not one person in my family doesn't love this dish. It makes a lot, but no matter what it is all gone. This is great for any holiday meal or any general everyday of the week meal. My family is always thrilled when they see me making this dish. Thank you! Wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I have made a variation of this recipe for years. Everyone loves it. Increase sour cream by half and add 1/2 cup cheddar cheese while baking. During last 10 minutes sprinkle additional cheese on top. There is never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne Stanley Hurley
Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
YUM! This is a great recipe. Definatly use less butter (about 1/2 cup) and more sour cream (about 2/3 cup). We weren't sure what to serve with this and had it by itself. It was great, but next time we will serve steak or some kind of meat with it since it kind of covers the veggie and bread for the meal. Wasn't sure whether to add the juice from the canned corn or not. I went ahead and DRAINED it before adding the corn and it turned out moist and delicious. If you are looking for more of a corn pudding type of recipe you might wanna go ahead and add the juice with it. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I have made this twice and everyone loves it! However, I cut the butter in half, as a whole cup seemed too much to me and I added a little extra sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYCB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I have been making this recipe for about 5 years now every Thanksgiving. I substitute the regular corn muffin mix for a honey cornbread mix. Most of my family doesn't like corn bread and before I made this we never had it at meals. Now it is the most requested at our big family get togethers. The honey cornbread mix gives it that little bit of sweetness that makes it more of a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAWNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was a very good recipe for baked corn. However, we used 1/2 the butter and it still turned out great. We also used lowfat sour cream and could not taste the difference. We will definitely make it again. Doubles great. Cook for about 50=60 minutes but DO NOT use a foil pan. takes way too long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Great side dish. Easy to make, tasty, and nice-textured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Wow -- this is some REALLY good cornbread (it's more like cornbread than "baked corn."), and so easy to make & hard to screw up. Too much butter though, I halved the butter to 1/2 cup and upped the sour cream to 3/4 cup to make up for it, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Thank You! This was a very big hit at Thanksgiving! I wasn't expecting it to turn out like corn bread. When I pulled it out of the oven I was a little shocked. However, as soon as I dished it out and saw how moist it was inside I was delighted. The perfected combination, having it all be like a caserole would have been too gooey. The cold leftovers were really scrumptious too!! As this was my first Thanksgiving I made all my mothers recipes, this added a personal touch and was very well received. I'd eat it every day if it wasn't so high in fat. Thank you! Thank you! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it won raves! An excellent dish that I will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States